Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

17 Posts

07-13-2018

United States of America

20 Signins

88 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎07-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 88
  • Message 1 of 13

NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-18, 13:34 PM

I have an s30 thinkstation that has windows 10 pro. The speaker does work as I have tested it on a laptop PC with windows 10. 

 

I updated all the drivers through lenovo and downloaded (uninstalled and installed) the realtek audio driver for my computer but all I am getting is static from the external speaker attached to the computer.

 

Is there something else I need to download?

 

In device manager I have 4 NVIDIA high definition audio drivers and 1 realtek definition audio driver.

 

The sound icon on the windows desktop is not crosssed out and all drivers have been updated

 

 

I do not know what could be the problem

 

thanks in advance

Reply
Options

5029 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3599 Signins

50510 Page Views

  • Posts: 5029
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 50510
  • Message 2 of 13

Re: NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-18, 14:34 PM

Which port are you connecting your speaker(s) to?

 

You'll also want to make sure you have the right source selected in your audio properties.  For win10, click the speaker icon in the taskbar, and then use the pulldown in the menu that pops up to select the correct source.  You'll want to select Realtek if you're using the onboard audio codec/ports.  The Nvidia HDA options are showing because they support audio over display port using an onboard codec.  For that source, you'd need some sort of speaker output attached directly to the monitor in quesiton.




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

17 Posts

07-13-2018

United States of America

20 Signins

88 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎07-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 88
  • Message 3 of 13

Re: NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-19, 0:30 AM

I do no see the pull down menu with the speaker icon. Just the volume up/down

 

Reply
Options

123 Posts

09-24-2017

China

145 Signins

1268 Page Views

  • Posts: 123
  • Registered: ‎09-24-2017
  • Location: China
  • Views: 1268
  • Message 4 of 13

Re: NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-19, 9:21 AM

You can right click the speaker on your right bottom corner of the desktop, then choose 'playback device'.

You can see some ports that you can choose to select. Just choose what you want to use as default. thanks~

Any questions please feel free to contact me~

Reply
Options

17 Posts

07-13-2018

United States of America

20 Signins

88 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎07-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 88
  • Message 5 of 13

Re: NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-19, 10:58 AM

The only thing I am seeing is

 

 

Open volume mixer

Open sound settings

Spatial sound (off)

Sounds

Troubleshoot sound problems

 

 

 

 

Playback device is not present

Reply
Options

5029 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3599 Signins

50510 Page Views

  • Posts: 5029
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 50510
  • Message 6 of 13

Re: NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-19, 15:13 PM

OK, so right click the speaker icon, and click open sound settings.  From there, select the appropriate device (Realtek) from the "choose your ouptut device" pull down.  This will at least make sure you're attempting to use the proper device to start with.  If that still doesn't fix it, then the problem is elsewhere and we need to keep digging.




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

17 Posts

07-13-2018

United States of America

20 Signins

88 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎07-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 88
  • Message 7 of 13

Re: NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-19, 15:20 PM
In INPUT

states

no input devices found

Reply
Options

17 Posts

07-13-2018

United States of America

20 Signins

88 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎07-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 88
  • Message 8 of 13

Re: NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-19, 15:29 PM

means output deivce

 

 

Speakers (Realtek High Definition...)

 

volume goes up and down when play a video but no sound and just statuc from external speaker. 

 

 

Reply
Options

5029 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3599 Signins

50510 Page Views

  • Posts: 5029
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 50510
  • Message 9 of 13

Re: NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-19, 15:31 PM

Can you post a picture of what device manager looks like on your system in Windows?  Please make sure to expand any "sound, video, and game controllers" expanded so we can see the devices under that group.

 

Have you checked in BIOS setup to ensure that the audio is not disabled for some reason?  F1 during POST to enter BIOS setup --> Devices -->  Southbridge --> check to see that "azalia HD audio" is set to enabled under audio configuration.




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

17 Posts

07-13-2018

United States of America

20 Signins

88 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎07-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 88
  • Message 10 of 13

Re: NO AUDIO FROM EXTERNAL SPEAKER JUST STATIC S30 THINKSTATION

2018-07-19, 15:44 PM
Issues found
Generic Audio DriverGeneric Audio Driver Detected Detected
Play Sound using generic Microsoft HD Audio driver Completed

will post soon
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms