Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

12-30-2017

United States of America

12 Signins

101 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-30-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 101
  • Message 1 of 11

P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2017-12-30, 19:45 PM

I just received a new Thinkstation P320. I have connected it to a monitor via the VGA connector, but there is no display. My monitor works when connected to another device (my laptop), but not the P320. Any suggestions? Here is a short video I made showing the problem:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4CQJ5fb2OeM

Reply
Answer
Options

98 Posts

05-12-2017

United States of America

255 Signins

1874 Page Views

  • Posts: 98
  • Registered: ‎05-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1874

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2018-01-02, 17:46 PM

Just had a brainstorm for another alternative, if you don't want to do the dongle shuffle or have a DP monitor laying about.

 

I don't know how comfortable you are working inside your new machine, but if you remove the P400 your on board video should work as you expect it, then you can change the BIOS setting, and replace the card.

Please note: Due to my responsibilities I am often unable to quickly and reliably respond to private messages, please do not hesitate to post publicly in the appropriate forum as it will likely get you the quickest response.
Reply

Replies(10)
Options

1418 Posts

01-14-2014

United States of America

2205 Signins

18149 Page Views

  • Posts: 1418
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 18149
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2017-12-31, 0:09 AM
Do you happen to know what CPU came installed in your P320 system? Not all the CPU's that we support on the P320 have integrated graphics support.

Also, do you happen to have any discrete graphics cards installed into the PCIe slots in the P320?
Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-30-2017

United States of America

12 Signins

101 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-30-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 101
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2017-12-31, 0:27 AM
Sorry for poor formatting, but here's all my system details:

component description quantity
1st HDD selection 1024GB SSD 2.5" SATA3 OPAL 1
2nd HDD selection No 2nd HDD Selected 0
First PCIe M.2 HDD Selection No M.2 PCIe SSD Selected 0
Memory Selection 16GB DDR4 2400 ECC UDIMM 4
ITC - Asset Tag Service NONE
ITC 2 - Enhanced Service NONE
ITC2-Solution Using SmartImage NONE
ITC 2 - Imaging Service 1 NONE
ITC 2 - Imaging Service 2 NONE
ITC 2 - Imaging Service 3 NONE
ITC 2 - Imaging Service 4 NONE
ITC 2 - Imaging Service 5 NONE
ITC 2 - Imaging Service 6 NONE
ITC 2 - Project Type NONE
ITC 2 - Who Created The Image NONE
ITC - Customization (BIOS) NONE
ITC - Harddrive Encryption NONE
ITC - Cloud Recovery None
DT_ITC_DIB NONE
ITC - Essential Image NONE
ITC - Image Management None
ITC - Essential Asset Tag NONE
ITC - Vpro Provisioning (VPRO) NONE
1st Graphic Card DP Dongle No Graphics Dongle Selected
1st Graphic Card DVI Dongle No Graphics Dongle Selected
1st Graphic Card MiniDP Dongle No Graphics Dongle Selected
1st HDD Boot Drive Yes
1st RAID Array No 1st RAID Selected
2nd Graphic Card DP Dongle No Graphics Dongle Selected
2nd Graphic Card DVI Dongle No Graphics Dongle Selected
2nd Graphic Card MiniDP Dongle No Graphics Dongle Selected
2nd RAID Array No 2nd RAID Selected
2nd UltraSlim ODD None
Adobe Acrobat NONE
Adobe No Adobe Selected
Audio Card Integrated Audio
SMA Chassis Intrusion Switch SFF
Cable Lock No_Cable Lock
Country USA
Processor Xeon E3-1245v6 3.7G 4C 73W
Enterprise Ready Preload None
eSATA Port No eSATA Port Selected
Additional Ethernet None-use integrated port
Ethernet_2 No_Ethernet
First Flex Bay NONE
First PCIe M.2 HDD Boot Drive No
Floor Stand Floor Stand for SFF
Front I/O - 1394 No 1394 I/O
Front I/O - eSATA No eSATA I/O
1st Graphic Card Quadro P400 2GB 3mDP LP
2nd Graphic Card No Second Graphic Card
IEEE 1394 No IEEE 1394 Adapter Selected
Interface pack None
Keyboard No Keyboard
Line Cord LineCord_US
McAfee No McAfee SWAPP Selected
Media Card Reader MCR blocker_No Integrated_MCR
Mouse No Mouse Selected
Norton No Norton SWAPP Selected
Optical Drive No 1st Optical Drive Selected
2nd Optical Drive No 2nd Optical Drive Selected
Microsoft Office No Office Software Selected
M.2 Optane Memory NONE
P320_MALONE_STOCKTONOTHERS10 NONE
P320_MALONE_STOCKTONOTHERS2 NONE
P320_MALONE_STOCKTONOTHERS3 NONE
P320_MALONE_STOCKTONOTHERS4 NONE
P320_MALONE_STOCKTONOTHERS5 NONE
P320_MALONE_STOCKTONOTHERS6 NONE
P320_MALONE_STOCKTONOTHERS7 NONE
P320_MALONE_STOCKTONOTHERS8 NONE
P320_MALONE_STOCKTONOTHERS9 NONE
Parallel Port NONE
Platform SFF C236 210W 85%
Preload Language W10 P64-ENG
Preload OS WIN10_Pro64
Preload Type Standard_Image
PS2 Port Cable No PS2 Port Cable
Pub PUB WW English
Recovery Media No Recovery Media
USB Port No Additonal USB Port Selected
Second Flex Bay NONE
Second Serial Port No Second Serial Port
Stereo 3D Connector No NVIDIA Stereo 3D Connector
Thunderbolt I/O No Thunderbolt Card
UltraSlim ODD None
USB 3.1 Type C rear adapter NONE
Warranty 3 Year On_site
WiFi Intel 8265+BT 2x2ac LP vPro
Reply
Options

1418 Posts

01-14-2014

United States of America

2205 Signins

18149 Page Views

  • Posts: 1418
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 18149
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2017-12-31, 3:02 AM
Based on your system configuration, it looks like your system has the E3-1245v6 CPU installed. This particular CPU should support integrated graphics without any issue.

Also, it appears that you don't have a discrete graphics card installed.

Let me check this out further after the holidays when I'm back in the lab to see if I can reproduce your issue.

***On a side note, does your monitor have a display port (DP) connection?

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-30-2017

United States of America

12 Signins

101 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-30-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 101
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2017-12-31, 19:03 PM
This monitor only has VGA. I'm planning to add 2 additional monitors, both of which will use DP. Will report back whether DP works.
Reply
Options

98 Posts

05-12-2017

United States of America

255 Signins

1874 Page Views

  • Posts: 98
  • Registered: ‎05-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1874
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2018-01-02, 17:10 PM

I'm testing this currently in the lab, I believe it is the expected behavior by default you're experiencing.

 

You have a dedicated graphics card and a cpu with an integrated graphics device, in this case, the workstation is booting by default to the Quadro P400.

 

When you get the permanent monitor with the DP interfaces, attach it to the P400 Mini-Display ports (you may need a mini to regular DP converter) and it should perform as expected, only if you need more than the displays provided by the P400 should you use the on-board VGA or display ports.

 

My first guess is that the underlying behavior is caused by the BIOS default setting: Video->Multi-Monitor Support: Disabled.  Enabling this setting should allow your IGD to operate concurrently with your PEG as an added display, if that's what you desire.  Performance wise, I believe if you can avoid this you would want to, hence why it is disabled by default in machines configured similarly to yours. (In most workstation use cases, you want the PCI graphics card to be doing all the work of graphics display and let your CPU concentrate on computing).

 

Currently I'm testing further and I'll update with results. 

Please note: Due to my responsibilities I am often unable to quickly and reliably respond to private messages, please do not hesitate to post publicly in the appropriate forum as it will likely get you the quickest response.
Reply
Options

98 Posts

05-12-2017

United States of America

255 Signins

1874 Page Views

  • Posts: 98
  • Registered: ‎05-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1874
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2018-01-02, 17:34 PM

So I swapped out a P320's non-IGD Xeon with an i7-6700 and confirmed the behavior that you're seeing is expected.

 

To get the IGD (Integrated Graphics Device) to work while a PCIe graphics card is installed in the BIOS you need to set:

 

Devices->Video->Multi-Monitor Support->Enabled.

 

This setting alone will just utilize the display as a secondary monitor, driven by the IGD rather than PCIe.  (In effect you won't see anything on the on-board connected displays until after Windows boots.)

 

To get your POST messages and BIOS screen to display on the onboard-connected display, you will have to set:

 

Devices->Video->Active Video->Select Active Video->IGD

 

If this setting is set to Auto (the default) or PEG the machine will only utilize the PCIe graphics card as the main display.

 

Again, in most cases you would want to leave the defaults, but I understand in your case you may want to enable this functionality to get to work before your final monitor arrives.  

 

Unfortunately, you're probably going to be constrained by the only monitor having just a VGA in, you will most likely need a series of dongles to get your VGA display onto that P400 mini-DP out so that you can change your BIOS settings.  If you have a spare DP or mini-DP display around you could use that just for the initial BIOS change, then use the VGA monitor, afterwards. 

 

I hope this helps you somewhat in getting to where you want to be with your new machine.

Please note: Due to my responsibilities I am often unable to quickly and reliably respond to private messages, please do not hesitate to post publicly in the appropriate forum as it will likely get you the quickest response.
Reply
Answer
Options

98 Posts

05-12-2017

United States of America

255 Signins

1874 Page Views

  • Posts: 98
  • Registered: ‎05-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1874
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2018-01-02, 17:46 PM

Just had a brainstorm for another alternative, if you don't want to do the dongle shuffle or have a DP monitor laying about.

 

I don't know how comfortable you are working inside your new machine, but if you remove the P400 your on board video should work as you expect it, then you can change the BIOS setting, and replace the card.

Please note: Due to my responsibilities I am often unable to quickly and reliably respond to private messages, please do not hesitate to post publicly in the appropriate forum as it will likely get you the quickest response.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-30-2017

United States of America

12 Signins

101 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-30-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 101
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2018-01-04, 18:56 PM

BCat- Thanks! This exactly remedied the issue. Question: Will I see a performance drop if I use my VGA monitor connected to the default video card using this method:

 

  • Devices->Video->Multi-Monitor Support->Enabled.
  •  
  • This setting alone will just utilize the display as a secondary monitor, driven by the IGD rather than PCIe.  (In effect you won't see anything on the on-board connected displays until after Windows boots.)

I'd be using the VGA as a secondary monitor, after getting a new monitor connected to the PCI slot via mini-DP.

 

Thanks.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-30-2017

United States of America

12 Signins

101 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-30-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 101
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: P320 Thinkstation - No display on initial startup

2018-01-04, 18:57 PM

Oops is there no way to delete posts?

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms