SG

3 Signins

80 Page Views

• Views: 80
  • Message 1 of 7

P340 Tiny availability anyone?

2020-05-10, 7:25 AM

Dear Community,

I'm very new to the ThinkStation universe. My first post so please be kind :)

Due to COVID-19 I've decided to ditch my laptop for a reliable workstation -- thus set my eyes on the P330 Tiny!

With Intel's 10th gen just released, plus existing models with 8th gen on the offer, I'm led to wonder whether the P340 Tiny is just around the corner.  I'm most definitely able to wait a couple of months.  So that I don't end up with a 2 years ageing processor going into the post-COVID world (Singapore doesn't sell 9th gen!)

Any idea when P340 Tiny is coming out?

add-on edit: 

Any real world performance difference between T and non-T processors other than wattage when idle?

TIA!

Options

784 Posts

01-14-2014

US

1958 Signins

13909 Page Views

• Views: 13909
  • Message 2 of 7

P340 Tiny availability anyone?

2020-05-11, 13:39 PM
I'm not sure I can give you a lot of details here on the P330 Tiny follow-on (i.e., P340 Tiny), but we are planning on coming out with one later this year. As for the performance between the T vs non-T processors, I don't think there would be a performance difference, but I'll likely have to defer to our internal benchmark team for more precise answers on performance differences.
Options

3 Posts

05-10-2020

SG

3 Signins

80 Page Views

• Message 3 of 7

Re:P340 Tiny availability anyone?

2020-05-11, 14:04 PM

Yes that is music to my ears! Thank you!

Options

16 Posts

04-23-2015

US

41 Signins

212 Page Views

• Views: 212
  • Message 4 of 7

2020-05-11, 18:40 PM

Let me expand on the performance differences between the "T" series CPUs and the non "T" series.  Yes, there is a performance impact, and in some cases it can be significant.  I pulled some data from a common benchmark called Passmark comparing an i7-9700 to an i7-9700T, see the image below.