English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

38 Posts

09-12-2016

SI

34 Signins

288 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2016
  • Location: SI
  • Views: 288
  • Message 1 of 16

RTX 2070s in s20

2020-03-05, 11:56 AM

?

 

I would like to ask if the Nvidia 2070s would fit into S20 tower since its 6-7cm longer than 1050ti which I currently have, I have 650W PSU which is  recommended by  Nvidia and my PC specs are Xeon w3520, 12gb ram, 512SSD, 2TB HDD, 650w PSU.

 

I  would like  to  know would this PSU really be enough for the 2070s and if  the card fits into S20 Tower ?  

 

Edit:

I checked  again and the PSU is 625W with max usage of 610W , the  test  I made with  my specs shows the usage is 599W usage if I have 2070s installed, would this cause problems?

Reply
Options

4838 Posts

02-22-2010

NC

3530 Signins

49360 Page Views

  • Posts: 4838
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 49360
  • Message 2 of 16

Re:RTX 2070s in s20

2020-03-05, 16:50 PM

This is a bit of a loaded question and not as straight forward to answer as one might think.

 

First, I'll state the S20 doesn't officially support any GeForce cards.  That's a standard statement for the platform, but I have to put it out there.  Many users  have been successful in getting GeForce cards to function just fine in S20, but no guarantees.  

 

We actually don't have any of the 2070 reference design cards (Founder's Edition) in house.  However, the reference card design length should fit just fine in S20 as it's designed to handle standard full length GPUs.  Typically you don't see a ton of variability in length from vendor to vendor, so I doubt length will be a concern.  The other dimensions, namely width and height, can vary greatly from vendor to vendor, so there's really no way for us to evaluate that without knowing which specific card you're looking at.  Again, reference design dimensions should be OK though for width and height as well.

 

From a power standpoint, this is something we'd probably have to set up and test.  Again, cards will vary, but the reference design is generally 175W-185W TDP for that GPU (could go quite a bit higher if USB-C is also supported).  Overall the TDP isn't an issue as S20 was designed to support GPUs up to 225W TDP if I remember correctly.  However,  as  that card uses a single 8-pin connector, that's going to put the entire aux 12V power load on a single rail.  This is where I think there could be potential problems.  The normal power spec should be OK, but there's an input EDP (surge) power spec associated with those cards that the S20 power supply wasn't really designed to handle.  Keep in mind that power supply was designed upwards of 12 years ago.  There's a chance the input EDP current could be high enough, for a long enough period of time while under load where the PSU will go into over-current mode and shut itself down to protect itself.  

 

We can try to test this out with the 2070 samples we have (which are close to the Founder's Edition I believe) to give you an idea.  But in reality your scenario might be different since you most likely have a different GPU.  Still, it should be enough to give you an idea of where you are in terms of support.

 

The alternative here would be to consider replacing the power supply with a newer (3rd party) PSU design.  Newer PSU designs have started to take this surge current into account and they are able to handle the power loads much better.




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

900 Posts

01-14-2014

US

2005 Signins

14524 Page Views

  • Posts: 900
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 14524
  • Message 3 of 16

Re:RTX 2070s in s20

2020-03-06, 15:51 PM

We were able to install an RTX 2070 card in the ThinkStation S20 system with the 625W PSU and do some heavy stress/max power testing on the card and we don't see any issues.  

Reply
Options

38 Posts

09-12-2016

SI

34 Signins

288 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2016
  • Location: SI
  • Views: 288
  • Message 4 of 16

Re:RTX 2070s in s20

2020-03-07, 14:03 PM
Hi thank you for the detailed explanation , currently my geforce 1050ti works very well in s20 hence geforce not being officially supported by lenovo , Thank you for testing the card, the gpu i intend to buy is https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N207SGAMING-OC-8GD/sp#sp , its 2070 super version and its a little bit better and it has 1 8pin and 1 6pin instead of 1 8pin like regular 2070, i opened my case again and i can confirm i have 1 6+2pin and 1 6pin free in my 625W PSU and a few sata cables, i wont use usb-c or gygabyte software even just original nvidia drivers and i never overclock any of my hardware and for output i have 2hdmi monitors so i think it should be fine , correct?
Reply
Options

900 Posts

01-14-2014

US

2005 Signins

14524 Page Views

  • Posts: 900
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 14524
  • Message 5 of 16

Re:RTX 2070s in s20

2020-03-09, 17:06 PM

Just a quick update, I was able to replace the RTX2070 card with an RTX 2070 Super card and run some max power testing in the S20 system.  I don't see any issues with it in terms of system shutdown while running this card at full load.  Yes, you'll need to plug in the 6-pin + 8-pin aux power connector into the card.  

Reply
Options

38 Posts

09-12-2016

SI

34 Signins

288 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2016
  • Location: SI
  • Views: 288
  • Message 6 of 16

Re:RTX 2070s in s20

2020-03-23, 8:16 AM

Hi.

 

First of all thank  you both for everything. :)

 

Now I must say since installing this card the PC is very silent just like  the first day i bought it, even on heavy loads it  remains pretty much silent almost like in idle

and everything works great really, i have  it for over a week now and did some testing with it and all works perfectly.

 

Now to my question.

 

At some point while playing a demanding game like Shadow of the Tomb Raider, i started hearing a buzzing sound from the PSU , it sounds like bee buzzing with a cricket frequency,

i panicked  a little and closed the game, then i went online to  do  some research and it turns out it is something called Coil Whine, then i also found out that  many  people

have the same issue with RTX cards installed some on GPU some on PSU(which is in my case) and even quite a lot of people with a lot newer and more powerful PSUs have the same issue,

buzzing from the PSU. The thing is this buzzing sound happens randomly and sometimes on very heavy scenes and the other time in the same scene it doesnt happen.

 

So since i could  not find any factual opinions on this I am asking you,  

 

Is this a bad problem?  

Can it harm or break my PSU?

Can it couse any kind of breakdowns?

And can this go on for hours without hurting the system in any way?

 

Regards

Reply
Options

4838 Posts

02-22-2010

NC

3530 Signins

49360 Page Views

  • Posts: 4838
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 49360
  • Message 7 of 16

Re:RTX 2070s in s20

2020-03-23, 13:17 PM
Yes it is probably coil while coming from the PSU, and it's very likely due to the increased current load the PSU is seeing with that card. The reality here is that you're using a GPU that was never qualified for that platform, so this is something that can happen. I can't definitively say if it's going to lead to problems or issues down the road, but you are loading the PSU with a stress that it wasn't designed for. If you can stand the whine, I'd say you could probably just keep using it and if the PSU were to die at some point, it should be fairly simple to swap it out with a new 3rd party one. You would just need to find one that can make the required connections to the motherboard (possibly using a couple dongles as needed). Keep in mind, your S20 PSU is already many years old, and it wasn't designed to run indefinitely :)



If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

38 Posts

09-12-2016

SI

34 Signins

288 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2016
  • Location: SI
  • Views: 288
  • Message 8 of 16

Re:RTX 2070s in s20

2020-04-06, 11:30 AM

hi.

 

Thank you for response, i have a quite an issue with posting in  forum 99%  of time i get  NULL object error when clicking submit,  i hope  it will  work now.

 

Well the  whine  does not bother  me  that much since its not very loud, then until i replace the PSU i guess ill have to live with it  :) , i over  2 weeks i  didnt notice any lags or any performance drops because of this, the only difference from before is that the CPU fan is  silent again no matter what i run :) i  guess the heat of  the card has  something to do with it as 1050ti was getting very hot at load. Now just  for infromation i  ran GPU-Z software that shows GPU data and it states that  GPU is  on pciExpress x16  1.1  and runs at the same 1.1 instead of 2.0 ,  i went trough all the manuals and such and the information for S20 is  that  has 2 pciExpress x16 2.0 slots no signs  of 1.1 mentioned anywhere, my GPU is installed in the top slot , the closest one to CPU. 

 

So could  it be that there is somekind of misread going on by that  software ?

Does the card really run at 1.1 version in 2.0 slot? 

How could I confirm that it really tuns at 2.0 and not at 1.1 ?

pic below of  GPU-Z

 

Reply
Options

900 Posts

01-14-2014

US

2005 Signins

14524 Page Views

  • Posts: 900
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 14524
  • Message 9 of 16

Re:RTX 2070s in s20

2020-04-06, 13:38 PM

From my understanding, the card runs at 1.1 when idle (likely to save on power).  Whenever the card gets some type of load on it, you should see the gen speed change from 1.1 to 2.0 within GPU-Z.  To test this out, leave GPU-Z up in the corner of your screen and launch some type of GPU stress application, such as Furmark, on the card and check to see if the gen speed for the card increased from 1.1.  

 

 

 

Reply
Options

38 Posts

09-12-2016

SI

34 Signins

288 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2016
  • Location: SI
  • Views: 288
  • Message 10 of 16

Re:RTX 2070s in s20

2020-04-06, 17:13 PM

hi.

 

I have tried what  you  suggested i ran Furmark  then Shadow of Tomb Raider,  GTA V , Maya ,.. I also tried  that Renderer in GpuZ - the question mark next to  pci bus  , 

it always shows Bus Interface PCIe x16 1.1  @ x16  1.1 no  matter  how  big  the load is  or what  i  run.

if  i  understood this program correctly even if it is working at 1.1 should show that  is in  2.0  like this:

Bus interface PCIe  x16  2.0 @ x16  1.1  if there is 2.0 slot on motherboard, which is  as stated in all manuals and information  about s20.

my Bios Version  is the latest one that Lenovo released for S20 - BIOS version 60KT47AUS, i  also reset bios settings to default settings and this still remains and i have power management on maximum performance set in windows.  

 

I read on  couple  of forums that x58 motherboards have this bug that they wont use/show 2.0 unless i install somekind of sli patch from  2010...   

 

So is there anything i could do or  am I  just stuck with it? Any suggestions? 

 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms