Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

08-22-2020

United States of America

8 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎08-22-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 55
  • Message 1 of 14

Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-22, 20:16 PM

Hello Everyone. I have a fully working thinkstation d20 for two intel xeon e5645. I am decided to upgrade it. I bought RAM memory and a new graphic card radeon rx580. After launching, the image did not appear. Returned the old nvidia gtx650ti - it working. I checked the rx580 on another PC-it worked. I am know that RX580 normally working in S20. I have a question, how to make rx580 8g work on lenovo thinkstation d20?

Reply
Options

1097 Posts

01-14-2014

United States of America

2069 Signins

15759 Page Views

  • Posts: 1097
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 15759
  • Message 2 of 14

Re:Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-25, 1:39 AM

What's the rest of your D20 Configuration? 

 

I don't see any reason why the AMD RX580 wouldn't work on the D20, per looking at specs of that card.  Keep in mind, Lenovo doesn't technically support that card on the D20 workstation as we never tested nor looked at this card in these older platforms like the D20.  

 

What PCIe slot do you have the AMD RX580 card iinstalled into? 

 

Are you fully connecting the PCIe Aux power connector to the AMD card? 

 

What exactly is the system doing when you attempt to boot the system with this card installed? 

Reply
Options

9 Posts

08-22-2020

United States of America

8 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎08-22-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 55
  • Message 3 of 14

Re:Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-25, 13:58 PM
My D20 cfg: 2x XEON E5645 128gb server RAM ASRock RX580 OC 8g I am put in first PCI-E x16 slot and i fully connect it (6pin) I was trying to start it with Windows 7 64bit ultimate, 8.1 professional, win 10 professional, windows server 2016. No image on monitor. But all working with GTX650TI
Reply
Options

4998 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3589 Signins

50365 Page Views

  • Posts: 4998
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 50365
  • Message 4 of 14

Re:Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-25, 21:24 PM

Do you hear any error beep sequences when trying to boot with the Radeon card installed?  Keep in mind that D20 doesn't fully support UEFI, so the card you're using would need to have a compatible Legacy OPROM on board in order to work (or hybrid Legacy+UEFI).




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

9 Posts

08-22-2020

United States of America

8 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎08-22-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 55
  • Message 5 of 14

Re:Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-25, 22:10 PM
2 short beeps with installed RX580 that i hear when GTX650TI installed
Reply
Options

4998 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3589 Signins

50365 Page Views

  • Posts: 4998
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 50365
  • Message 6 of 14

Re:Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-26, 21:22 PM

I'm guessing that might be indicating a POST error of some sort.  Can you see what is being output to the screen when that happens with the working Nvidia card?




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

9 Posts

08-22-2020

United States of America

8 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎08-22-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 55
  • Message 7 of 14

Re:Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-26, 21:56 PM
b0b0 when on screen f1 to bios f2 to continue (GTX650TI). When windows started post card writing 7171.
Reply
Options

4998 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3589 Signins

50365 Page Views

  • Posts: 4998
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 50365
  • Message 8 of 14

Re:Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-27, 4:02 AM

Do you have a POST/checkpoint card installed in the system?  POST codes don't typically get output to the main display.


My question was whether there is any info shown on the screen after the double beep sequence.  If that is truly a POST error, it should output some sort of info regarding that error to the main display.  maybe a screen capture would be helpful?

 

Checkpoint codes of b0b0 and 7171 aren't terribly helpful unfortunately.

 




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

9 Posts

08-22-2020

United States of America

8 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎08-22-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 55
  • Message 9 of 14

Re:Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-27, 11:48 AM

Watch 

Reply
Options

9 Posts

08-22-2020

United States of America

8 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎08-22-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 55
  • Message 10 of 14

Re:Radeon graphic card in D20

2020-08-27, 11:59 AM
Post card in PCI slot
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms