Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

06-28-2012

Leinfelden-Echterdingen

26 Signins

107 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-28-2012
  • Location: Leinfelden-Echterdingen
  • Views: 107
  • Message 1 of 20

S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-25, 16:37 PM

Hi,

I have a new S30 too, with the latest bios version A0KT37A on it...

my configuration is

SATA Port 1 = Samsung SSD 830 Series 256GB
SATA Port 2 = empty
SATA Port 3 = DVD Writer
SATA Port 4 = BluRay Writer
SCU = RAID1 with two 1TB HDDs

 

All SATA Ports are AHCI.

 

Primary Boot
- SATA Port 1 = Samsung SSD 830 Series 256GB

I want to add both SATA Port 3/4 to the boot order, but the bios put them always in the excluded from boot order list.

Every time when I press x, the devices clear out from the exluded list, but they won´t put to the included list.
If the DVD Writer is on the SATA Port 2, I can add this Port to the Primary Boot list and boot from it.

Is this normal or my mistake...

Thanks in advance for your answers...

MfG
so-com

Reply
Answer
Options

99 Posts

11-24-2007

United States

720 Signins

14221 Page Views

  • Posts: 99
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 14221

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-10-03, 23:42 PM

koen - have you tried BIOS 40A posted recently?   http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS028141

 

this addresses missing items in the included/excluded boot order list.   please try it and let us know if it works for you.

Reply

Replies(19)
Options

5258 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3704 Signins

51750 Page Views

  • Posts: 5258
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51750
  • Message 2 of 20

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-26, 20:06 PM

I haven't had a chance to physically check this on my system, but I think what might be happening is a simple space problem.  When you hit X to move the devices out of the excluded list, it might be making the included list of boot devices so large that it won't display on a single screen.  I think if you scroll down to the bottom of the included devices, you might see your devices sitting down there.  I'll try to follow up once I get a minute to look at a system.




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

30 Posts

01-15-2011

Netherlands

66 Signins

265 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎01-15-2011
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 265
  • Message 3 of 20

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-30, 9:14 AM

I seem to be having the same issue: I can move devices from the included list to the excluded list. But when I try to do the opposite, most devices are being removed from the excluded list, but they do not appear in the included list.

 

This has resulted in a system that can now only boot from CD/DVD. Very annoying. I just installed the latest BIOS (AOKT38A), which still shows the same behaviour.

 

I'm very happy to hear that I'm not alone, but it does make my system rather unusable. Any suggestions are appreciated!

Reply
Options

99 Posts

11-24-2007

United States

720 Signins

14221 Page Views

  • Posts: 99
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 14221
  • Message 4 of 20

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-30, 20:42 PM

interesting.   what happens when you press F12 at POST to load the boot device list?   are you given the option to boot from the device you want?

Reply
Options

30 Posts

01-15-2011

Netherlands

66 Signins

265 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎01-15-2011
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 265
  • Message 5 of 20

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-30, 20:56 PM

No, the devices aren't shown there, just the ones that are in the included list.

 

Some additional information: I do get some weird lines in those boot order lists, saying something about disabled by BIOS. I can try to get a picture of that tomorrow (system is at work, I'm at home), but I'm not sure if it has any meaning and is related.

Reply
Options

30 Posts

01-15-2011

Netherlands

66 Signins

265 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎01-15-2011
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 265
  • Message 6 of 20

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-31, 10:22 AM

I made some picture of the BIOS screen. My apologies for the poor quality.

 

First, the situation without me doing anything. I attached the DVD drive, a HD and an SSD. This is the first screen, showing the included devices:

Start-included.jpg

 

The next screen, showing the excluded devices:

Start-excluded.jpg

 

When I press x on SCU device 1 and SATA 2, they are removed from the excluded list:

TryIncluding-excluded.jpg

 

but they do not show up on the included list:

TryIncluding-included.jpg

 

 

Note that when repeatedly pressing 'x', many devices disappear and I'm eventually left with a small number of devices that I can move between included and excluded:

Stable.jpg

 

So it seems that devices are 'lost' when using 'x', instead of them being moved from one list to the other.

 

Any help is appreciated. I'd like to start doing some real work on this machine, rather than playing around with the BIOS :-)

 

Reply
Options

128 Posts

10-22-2008

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

241 Signins

2214 Page Views

  • Posts: 128
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 2214
  • Message 7 of 20

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-31, 12:44 PM

Have you tried removing first all devices from the included list, then only add the few devices you want to boot from to the list? I say this since your Primary Boot Sequence looks to be over populated with all sort of devices which are either not connected or not in use.

 

So just as a test, first empty the whole Primary Boot Sequence list, then F10, Save, reboot, F2 and only then go and add the few devices you want to have in the Boot Sequence, then F10, Save, reboot and test to see if you get your selected devices under the Boot Device List by pressing F12 at POST?

Reply
Options

30 Posts

01-15-2011

Netherlands

66 Signins

265 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎01-15-2011
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 265
  • Message 8 of 20

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-31, 14:32 PM

I tried, but it didn't work. I was able to remove all the drives from the included list. After a reboot, I tried to move devices from the excluded to the included list, but this only works for some cases (i.e., the device was removed from the excluded list, but didn't show up on the included list).

 

I do noted that in those cases, the BIOS showed an additional empty line below the included devices, which then was removed when using the arrows keys on the keyboard. So it seems it tries to add them, but somewhere it fails.

Reply
Options

5258 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3704 Signins

51750 Page Views

  • Posts: 5258
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51750
  • Message 9 of 20

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-31, 15:00 PM

I'll pass this on to our BIOS team.  It could possibly be a bug in the design.  There were many changes to this particular section during development, so this might have been missed somehow.  Will let you know if we come up with anything.




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

3 Posts

06-28-2012

Leinfelden-Echterdingen

26 Signins

107 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-28-2012
  • Location: Leinfelden-Echterdingen
  • Views: 107
  • Message 10 of 20

Re: S30 won´t boot from SATA Port 3 and 4

2012-07-31, 17:04 PM

Thanks kavermeer for your tests, details and information...

 

I can confirm this, but in my case,  only the SATA Port 3 and 4 and also the USB Keys won´t move from the excluded to the included list... all others, I can move by pressing x without problems...

 

strange, but I hope it is an bios bug and will be fixed soon...

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms