English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

55 Posts

10-02-2013

Netherlands

93 Signins

795 Page Views

  • Posts: 55
  • Registered: ‎10-02-2013
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 795
  • Message 1 of 19

Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-07-31, 13:23 PM

Hello guys,

 

I have a problem.

After being on holiday my D30 does not boot. I worked fine when I left. BTW: I unplugged it from the AC socket when I was away.

First it hang on error code 62 (I read some other issues on this error code).

No screen no beeps, no nothing.

Tried already reseating memory, gpu, all connectors, taking out everything not needed. Heck, I even took out the gpu.

I also resetted the bios using the jumper on the mainboard.

It still stopped at error code 62.

 

Just as a last resort I left it on to see if over time something would change.

And to my surprise it did :smileysurprised:

Error code 62 is still shown.

 

I now have my boot up screen staying at "press F1 to continu to bios" but the USB ports seem not to be working. So I cannot press F1. Tried all usb ports USB2 and USb3 and even different keyboards (wired and wireless).

There is no PS2 to try this.

 

I have screenshot of my screen at this time (do not look at the memory issue, it's because I took out all memory except one). Saying the startup data is corrupted and security data is corrupted.

 

 

Any ideas??? :smileyfrustrated:

 

BTW : I recently updated the BIOS (a week or so before I went on holiday) maybe it is related?

Any way as soon as I can I like to do a bios downgrade back to 51.

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

US

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 2 of 19

Re: Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-08-01, 17:55 PM

If USB isn't functional for keyboard access then try resetting the CMOS. The jumper location is on the access panel diagram. With the system off, move the jumper to the opposite pins, boot the system, power it off after the series of beeps, return the jumper to its original position, and power back up.

 

You'll lose BIOS settings but with USB non-functional your options here are limited.

 

If that works then I would suggest re-flashing the same BIOS revision using the DOS utility version. This method should help clear out any residual issues given the 0162/0175 errors shown in your photo. I wouldn't suggest downgrading versions until we know whether or not the above works.

 

Assuming you're still on a 4229 system, you'll want BIOS 57A found here: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/downloads/DS028464

 

Let us know your results and we'll go from there.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

55 Posts

10-02-2013

Netherlands

93 Signins

795 Page Views

  • Posts: 55
  • Registered: ‎10-02-2013
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 795
  • Message 3 of 19

Re: Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-08-02, 9:38 AM

Thnx Erik,

 

I'm now having the problem that I can NOT reproduce this screen. I get no picture at all.

I now get 7 beeps: 2 long 3 short pause 2 more short beeps and the error code reads b2 (I'm sure it's not 62).

BUT when I take out most of the memory except for 1 (seated in the DIMM1 blue slot) it beeps 2x short and I get error code b2 again. Tried several different modules, all the same. Even tried different slots, still 2 beeps.

 

Now waiting to see if the screen comes up?! 

 

 

cheers

Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

US

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 4 of 19

Re: Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-08-02, 13:25 PM

What's your current hardware config? Will it POST with all storage drives disconnected?

 

Just to confirm, did you try my suggestion above on resetting the CMOS and re-flashing the BIOS?

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

55 Posts

10-02-2013

Netherlands

93 Signins

795 Page Views

  • Posts: 55
  • Registered: ‎10-02-2013
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 795
  • Message 5 of 19

Re: Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-08-02, 13:34 PM

Hello Erik

 

I reset the CMOS a dozen times by now. Changing the jumper and back. And taking out the battery. 

I would like to reinstall the BIOS but I don"t get any screen anymore. My screen stays black. 

So i'm a bit stuck?

Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

US

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 6 of 19

Re: Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-08-02, 13:45 PM

What about your current hardware config and whether or not it POSTs with all drives disconnected? What GPU are you using now? Do you have another graphics card that you can test?

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

55 Posts

10-02-2013

Netherlands

93 Signins

795 Page Views

  • Posts: 55
  • Registered: ‎10-02-2013
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 795
  • Message 7 of 19

Re: Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-08-02, 16:01 PM

I have no HDD/SSD connected.

Only the CDROM.

Only connected/installed is a wired keyboard, the GPU, 1 memorystrip and CDROM.

I have a 4229 with 57 Bios and 2x 2630.

 

I tested another GPU. No change.

Same issue.

 

When I take out the keyboard I get a b7 error, when I than connect it I get b4.

When I connect it before I turn on the PC I get the b2.

 

It still keeps strange that before I wnet on holiday everythong was working fine and after returning (nobody touched it) these issues occur??

As it was disconnected from the AC socket no lightning or AC power change could have be the reason.

 

Any suggestions?

Cheers

 

 

Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

US

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 8 of 19

Re: Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-08-03, 10:21 AM

I've gone through your old posts trying to figure out if any of your other hardware questions might be related to this issue but am not clear on what you're using now. What GPU(s) are you using? What PSU are you using now? Were you able to find a replacement PSU after the previous one failed?

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

55 Posts

10-02-2013

Netherlands

93 Signins

795 Page Views

  • Posts: 55
  • Registered: ‎10-02-2013
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 795
  • Message 9 of 19

Re: Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-08-03, 10:59 AM

Hello Erik,

 

De GPU's are a Nvidia 750Ti (my original) and the borrowed GPU is a AMD R290.

My PSU is now a Seasonic Platinum 1050W.

 

The GPU I used for 2 years and the PSU since 1st of July.

Still everyting worked fine until I returned from holidays!?

 

BTW: thnx for helping!

 

 

Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

US

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 10 of 19

Re: Thinkstation D30 will not boot. First error code 62

2016-08-03, 11:23 AM

Thanks. That creates a few variables but we'll assume for now that the PSU and GPUs are okay. The next step with them would be to try a different PCIe power lead on the PSU in case that's causing the GPUs to not get enough power.

 

Can you flash your BIOS using the USB DOS method while the CMOS jumper is in the maintenance position? Boot to the USB drive with the jumper moved and wait a few minutes. This should re-flash in blind mode. I can't recall what will display on the POST code LED but believe it will show status during the process.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete