English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

06-22-2020

US

9 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-22-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 50
  • Message 1 of 8

Thinkstation P920 POST CODE b811

2020-06-22, 22:43 PM

My system is not booting up and I have a BIOS b811 code followed by 3 short 1 long beep. I can't seem to find any info on this code anywhere, so I tried clearing the CMOS and that didn't help. Any ideas?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

4513 Posts

02-22-2010

NC

3416 Signins

47665 Page Views

  • Posts: 4513
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 47665
  • Message 2 of 8

Re:Thinkstation P920 POST CODE b811

2020-06-23, 13:57 PM

The ThinkStation Diagnostics site is really the first place to start for debugging this problem.

 

https://www.thinkworkstationsoftware.com/?view=diags

 

Typically that code and error beep sequence is pointing to something related to memory.  See the debug steps listed with the code on the diags site.


What is your full memory configuration?  Have you changed anything recently related to memory that could have caused this problem to show up?




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-22-2020

US

9 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-22-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 50
  • Message 3 of 8

Re:Thinkstation P920 POST CODE b811

2020-06-23, 17:20 PM
The b811 does not bring anything up in that database. b8xx seems to point to memory error. The processor was changed to a 4208. I've tried different memory and for now it has a single 16GB DDR4-2666 module in slot 1.
Reply
Options

20 Posts

04-26-2018

AT

32 Signins

215 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎04-26-2018
  • Location: AT
  • Views: 215
  • Message 4 of 8

Re:Thinkstation P920 POST CODE b811

2020-06-24, 15:03 PM

The Xeon Silver 4208 supports only memory of type DDR4-2400.

See: https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/193390/intel-xeon-silver-4208-processor-11m-cache-2-10-ghz.html

 

What CPU did you have before?

Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-22-2020

US

9 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-22-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 50
  • Message 5 of 8

Re:Thinkstation P920 POST CODE b811

2020-06-26, 7:05 AM

It had a Silver 4112. Putting that CPU in with the same memory works.

Reply
Options

4513 Posts

02-22-2010

NC

3416 Signins

47665 Page Views

  • Posts: 4513
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 47665
  • Message 6 of 8

Re:Thinkstation P920 POST CODE b811

2020-06-26, 13:25 PM

I'm assuming you updated to the latest BIOS prior to installing the Cascade Lake (42XX) CPU?  If not, you'll want to make sure you do this.  If your BIOS is too far downlevel, it might not have the CPU microcode patches necessary to support the newer CPU properly.

 

Additionally, it's important to note that there is a torque requirement for installing the heatsinks on the the CPU sub-assembly.  The spec should be noted on the label on the heatsink itself.  I believe it is in the 15 inch-pound range, but double check the label.  Over-torquing that assembly could result in damage to the board.  Under-torquing can result in a system that simply won't boot properly.




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-22-2020

US

9 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-22-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 50
  • Message 7 of 8

Re:Thinkstation P920 POST CODE b811

2020-06-26, 21:08 PM

I've only checked in Vantage and it did not show that there was a newer BIOS available. I think I will have to do a manual check and check to make sure it is seated correctly.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-22-2020

US

9 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-22-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 50
  • Message 8 of 8

Re:Thinkstation P920 POST CODE b811

2020-06-27, 1:53 AM
I don't know which of the two it was but updating the BIOS and tightening the HSF fixed my issue.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete