Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

67 Posts

01-29-2012

New Zealand

161 Signins

991 Page Views

  • Posts: 67
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2012
  • Location: New Zealand
  • Views: 991
  • Message 1 of 7

Thinkstation S10 and GeForce graphics cards

2017-02-16, 3:03 AM

Hi Folks

 

I bought a ThinkStation S10 as a project to turn it into a gaming machine. 

 

Installing a GTX 1050TI resulted in a succession of Beeps and no POST.

 

The graphics card vendor confirmed there was no problem with the card and thought that the BIOS was "too old" to support the card.

 

At first, I thought I might have made a mistake because I came across a thread on this forum where the OP described the exact same problem that I had.  The "answer" stated that the TS machines were never designed with gaming in mind and so GeForce cards weren't supported.

 

But then I came across a thread that discussed the BIOS when someone tried to install a 2000 series Quadro card. 

 

That I spotted DutchIce's post here:  Re: Lenovo ThinkVision Pro2840m 4K no DisplayPort signal on POST where in he mentions that he got a Geforce GTX 670 going! 

 

I see on a subsequent thread that even though he got it going, he eventually replaced the motherboard and this improved performance.

 

I asked him for some tips on theThinkVision thread and he kindly described his experience but suggested that I start a new thread so that others could contribute; so here I am!

 

Has anyone else had any luck with installing GeForce cards on a Thinkstation S10?  Thanks in advance.

--------
ThinkPad X1 Tablet; ThinkStation S10; ThinkPad 10; ThinkCentre 57e; X200 Tablet; T60 Tablet; T60 15" Widescreen; T60; T40; 701C; 3 x Apple Newton MP2100; 2 x HP 200LX
Reply
Options

67 Posts

01-29-2012

New Zealand

161 Signins

991 Page Views

  • Posts: 67
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2012
  • Location: New Zealand
  • Views: 991
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: Thinkstation S10 and GeForce graphics cards

2017-02-22, 14:08 PM

Just updating this thread:

 

I returned the GTX 1050Ti and went with a more modest GTX 660 adapter for about half the cost. 

 

It turns out that it is most likely that a GeForce card will work in the blue x4 PCIE slot, second in from the wall of the case.

 

But attempting to fit the card in there is impossible.  The card is really long and so it interferes with the SATA cables at the other end of the motherboard.  There are a whole bunch of cables connecting to the motherboard near the wall of the case and they too prevent the card from seating properly in the slot. 

 

I didn't want to force it for fear of damaging the cables.

 

On the off chance that it might work, I installed it in the x16 PCIE slot.  Fortunately there are some PCIE power cables that come directly out of the PSU.  However on powering up, I got the beeps and no go result that I got with the GTX 1050Ti.  Interestingly, when installed in this slot, the bracket that holds all adapter cards in place won't shut properly. 

 

I have no idea how DutchIce ever fitted his GTX 760 in there.  :-(

 

The system worked fine after replacing the Quadro FX1700.

--------
ThinkPad X1 Tablet; ThinkStation S10; ThinkPad 10; ThinkCentre 57e; X200 Tablet; T60 Tablet; T60 15" Widescreen; T60; T40; 701C; 3 x Apple Newton MP2100; 2 x HP 200LX
Reply
Options

67 Posts

01-29-2012

New Zealand

161 Signins

991 Page Views

  • Posts: 67
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2012
  • Location: New Zealand
  • Views: 991
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: Thinkstation S10 and GeForce graphics cards

2017-02-23, 0:26 AM

Upon reflecting on DutchIce's posts, I realised that he got it going with the 43A version of the BIOS.  Which also implies that he didn't install his GTX 670 in the 4x PCIE slot but in the 16x PCIE slot, and therefore might explain why he was able to get his 670 to fit. 

 

I've got version 47A of the BIOS.  I wonder what the risks are if I installed an earlier version of the BIOS?

 

This page:  https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/nz/en/olddownloads/ds002682: implies that the BIOS installer only goes up to Win7; so if I use an older version would it be incompatible with Win 10?

--------
ThinkPad X1 Tablet; ThinkStation S10; ThinkPad 10; ThinkCentre 57e; X200 Tablet; T60 Tablet; T60 15" Widescreen; T60; T40; 701C; 3 x Apple Newton MP2100; 2 x HP 200LX
Reply
Options

67 Posts

01-29-2012

New Zealand

161 Signins

991 Page Views

  • Posts: 67
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2012
  • Location: New Zealand
  • Views: 991
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: Thinkstation S10 and GeForce graphics cards

2017-02-23, 12:19 PM

Here's the next update:

 

I've been looking high and low for BIOS version 43A and found it at DriverGuide.com. Unfortunately all attempts to load it resulted in the Code 1275 error, saying that the Driver was being blocked. 

 

I found a few suggestions for fixing it including the Data Execution Prevention fix but none worked.

 

There was another suggestion that the driver update is best applied via the .iso file on a CDRW but unfortunately the iso is no longer available for download. 

 

The latest version is 47A and the oldeset version still available for download is 45A.  47A is already installed on my S10.  Maybe I should try installing 45A to see if it will allow the GTX660 to work...?

 

 

--------
ThinkPad X1 Tablet; ThinkStation S10; ThinkPad 10; ThinkCentre 57e; X200 Tablet; T60 Tablet; T60 15" Widescreen; T60; T40; 701C; 3 x Apple Newton MP2100; 2 x HP 200LX
Reply
Options

128 Posts

10-22-2008

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

241 Signins

2214 Page Views

  • Posts: 128
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 2214
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: Thinkstation S10 and GeForce graphics cards

2017-02-23, 15:34 PM

I managed to take a look at the card and system this morning, and did some quick tests to remember well what exactly was the story.

 

  • The GPU was a 'non-reference GTX670' card, meaning that its cooler and card layout are not as set by NVIDIA. You can read more on the internet by searching for 'non-reference nvidia gpu'.
  • The GTX670 only works in the 4x slot irrelevant from which BIOS version you have installed.
  • None of the following BIOS versions got the GTX670 to work in the 16x slots: 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 47

I have attached a few pics of the GPU and system for you to see. Don't download and install BIOS files from anywhere other than the official Lenovo channels. If you want to try to get your GTX660 to work in the 16x slots, try flashing each one of the 'still' available BIOS updates from this post.

 

Eventhough chances are very slim that you might be successful, I think you will eventually need to either find a GPU that will fit in the 4x slot, or ask politely to the forum moderators here to provide you BIOS revisions 25a to 38a which have been taking down from the public urls so you can test those too. That's the least they can do to help you out.

 

Reply
Options

128 Posts

10-22-2008

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

241 Signins

2214 Page Views

  • Posts: 128
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 2214
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: Thinkstation S10 and GeForce graphics cards

2017-02-23, 15:38 PM

I managed to take a look at the card and system this morning, and did some quick tests to remember well what exactly was the story.

 

  • The GPU was a 'non-reference GTX670' card, meaning that its cooler and card layout are not as set by NVIDIA. You can read more on the internet by searching for 'non-reference nvidia gpu'.
  • The GTX670 only works in the 4x slot irrelevant from which BIOS version you have installed.
  • None of the following BIOS versions got the GTX670 to work in the 16x slots: 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 47

I have attached a few pics of the GPU and system for you to see. Don't download and install BIOS files from anywhere other than the official Lenovo channels. If you want to try to get your GTX660 to work in the 16x slots, try flashing each one of the 'still' available BIOS updates from this post.

 

Eventhough chances are very slim that you might be successful, I think you will eventually need to either find a GPU that will fit in the 4x slot, or ask politely to the forum moderators here to provide you BIOS revisions 25a to 38a which have been taken down from public urls so you can test those too. That's the least they can do to help you out.

 

 

Reply
Options

67 Posts

01-29-2012

New Zealand

161 Signins

991 Page Views

  • Posts: 67
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2012
  • Location: New Zealand
  • Views: 991
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: Thinkstation S10 and GeForce graphics cards

2017-02-24, 1:58 AM
Thx Dutch Ice. A lot to take in. You've gone to a lot of effort and its much appreciated. My GTX 660 card is really long and it extends all the way out to as far as your red cable is, in Image #2.
--------
ThinkPad X1 Tablet; ThinkStation S10; ThinkPad 10; ThinkCentre 57e; X200 Tablet; T60 Tablet; T60 15" Widescreen; T60; T40; 701C; 3 x Apple Newton MP2100; 2 x HP 200LX
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms