Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

02-05-2018

Denmark

2 Signins

18 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎02-05-2018
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 18
  • Message 1 of 4

Thinkstation S30 12gb ecc ram help please

2018-02-05, 13:24 PM

hello i have a 8gb stick and a 4gb stick ecc ram, the pc can run one of the sticks but when i add the other no matter what dimm slot i use i get an error code b0 or 60. anyone know whats up with that or any fixes ?

i bios updated it to the newst on lenovos website.

thanks :D

Reply
Answer
Options

4 Posts

02-05-2018

Denmark

2 Signins

18 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎02-05-2018
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 18

Re: Thinkstation S30 12gb ecc ram help please

2018-02-05, 18:32 PM

one is ddr3l and the other ddr3 thats the problem.

Reply

Replies(3)
Options

98 Posts

05-12-2017

United States of America

255 Signins

1874 Page Views

  • Posts: 98
  • Registered: ‎05-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1874
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Thinkstation S30 12gb ecc ram help please

2018-02-05, 15:22 PM

Greetings SSkov!  Sorry you're having trouble with your RAM config.

 

There are two types of ECC RAM supported on that platform, Registered and Un-registered, they are not interoperable, you have to stick with one or the other.

 

If you did end up mixing different sizes of RAM of the same type, you might also want to test your applications to make sure that you are in fact speeding them up by adding memory and not slowing them down by unbalancing the channels.  

Please note: Due to my responsibilities I am often unable to quickly and reliably respond to private messages, please do not hesitate to post publicly in the appropriate forum as it will likely get you the quickest response.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

02-05-2018

Denmark

2 Signins

18 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎02-05-2018
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 18
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: Thinkstation S30 12gb ecc ram help please

2018-02-05, 18:09 PM

i do need more then 8gb ram yes and it is ecc ram. i get error code b0 on the motherboard (RAM attatched)

Reply
Answer
Options

4 Posts

02-05-2018

Denmark

2 Signins

18 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎02-05-2018
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 18
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: Thinkstation S30 12gb ecc ram help please

2018-02-05, 18:32 PM

one is ddr3l and the other ddr3 thats the problem.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms