Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-25-2010
Location: sacramento
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

Hey guys,

 

I want to use the 3 160GB Intel X25-m drives. What kind of hardware do I need. I want to make the system fly.

 

Please advice.

 

Many thanks.

Posts: 5,218
Solutions: 569
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

not sure i follow what hardware you think you might need.   X25-M drives will plug directly into the upper row of SATA sockets in the D20 and work perfectly fine.   the upper row is controlled by the intel ICH10 chipset and will support TRIM as long as you're not using the drive in RAID.

 

if you're asking about using three in RAID 0, i would recommend against it.   they look great in benchmarks but in real-world use you aren't going to notice any difference between this and a single drive.   plus, you lose TRIM support when in RAID and will see a degradation in speed over time, requiring you to image the array, secure erase all drives, rebuild the array, and re-image the new array.

 

i'm using a 160GB intel 320-series SSD in both my C20 and X220 and they fly.

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · 600Microsoft MVP

Highlighted
Punch Card
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-25-2010
Location: sacramento
0 Kudos

Re: Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

Thanks.

 

I see two sections of SATA ports. Plug them in the Blue one or Black?

 

What is the blue one and what is the black one?

Posts: 5,218
Solutions: 569
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States

Re: Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

the three black sockets on the left are on the intel ICH10 controller.   the five blue sockets on the right are on the marvell controller.   use the sockets on the left.

 

nevermind what i said about upper/lower rows.   i was thinking of the D10, not D20/C20.

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · 600Microsoft MVP

Punch Card
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-25-2010
Location: sacramento
0 Kudos

Re: Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

So here is the deal..Smiley Tongue

 

Right now I got two SAS Drives about 293GB. My 2x 160 GB SSD is here.

 

What is the best option, should I use the SSD as a boot drive or what?

What program should I use to clone everything over? I am asking because I don't want to screw up the present setup.You people are pros and I am rookie.

 

I want the best performance, because I run about 5 user accounts and use it for windows live movie maker..running cpu up to about 95% all cores. I have two x5560 with 12GB 1333mhz ram.

 

Thank you.

Posts: 5,218
Solutions: 569
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

i would use one drive for boot/applications and the second for data.

 

i personally recommend against cloning an HDD to an SSD.   a fresh installation is usually your best bet.   if you haven't already created factory recovery media, now would be the time to do so.   the app can be found under start > programs > thinkvantage > create recovery media.

 

however, norton ghost and acronis true image both offer HDD to SSD cloning.   i don't know how they would handle migrating from a larger partition in the event that your two SAS drives are in RAID 0 as one large partition.   that's something you'll need to research if it applies to your situation.

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · 600Microsoft MVP

Punch Card
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-25-2010
Location: sacramento
0 Kudos

Re: Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

What read and write speeds can I expect?

 

with the X25-M?

Posts: 5,218
Solutions: 569
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

this was from a 160GB X18-M in my D10:

 

CDM_Intel_SSDSA1M160G2LE.png

 

the 2.5" version should be similar.

 

in real-world use they all act identically.   even SATA III SSDs feel the same despite what benchmarks show.   4K and 4K threaded results are what matter the most.

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · 600Microsoft MVP

Punch Card
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-25-2010
Location: sacramento
0 Kudos

Re: Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

So I changed my mind. I sold the X25 SSD and got a 400GB SAS HD.

 

Now I already have two 15k 146GB in raid0. How do I add this 400GB to same raid0 configration I already have?

 

I don't want to format and reinstall. Any ideas. Thanks again Smiley Happy.

Posts: 5,218
Solutions: 569
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: Want to Use Intel X25-M Gen 2 160GB Drive in D20, what do I need?

there's no way to add a drive to a RAID 0 array.   it's a destructive process.   i sure hope you keep good backups. Smiley Wink

 

if speed is your goal then stick with SSDs.   no RAID 0 of anything can match a good SSD.   that's just how it is.

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · 600Microsoft MVP