English Community

Datacenter SystemsThinkSystem
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

06-02-2017

IT

10 Signins

69 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎06-02-2017
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 69
  • Message 1 of 2

Thinksystem P330 - not booting with 4 RAM sticks, yes with 3

2020-09-30, 14:56 PM

Hello,

 

we have the following problem:

 

 

 

2 Lenovo Thinksystem P330 Workstation came with 2x8 non-ECC Ram configured;

adding 2 RAM sticks of the same size, original Lenovo, results in BootError with 3 - short , 1-long beep (supposedly memory issues).

 

This happens on both systems, and when trying to boot with the new Ram only, machines would boot.

Booting with 3 Sticks (3x8) is also functioning, 

however, when using 4 x 8 the described error occurs.

 

RAM is from Samsung, original by Lenovo 2666Mhz.

 

 

We also tried inserting one odd 2400 Module , instead of the 2666Mhz Samsung one, and this time the machine would also boot.

 

 

 

Please suggest a solution.

 

 

Thank you very much.

 

 

 

Reply
Options

557 Posts

08-14-2018

US

546 Signins

10079 Page Views

  • Posts: 557
  • Registered: ‎08-14-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 10079
  • Message 2 of 2

Re:Thinksystem P330 - not booting with 4 RAM sticks, yes with 3

2020-10-01, 17:43 PM

Hello I think you may have posed in the wrong group. Do you mean that you have a ThinkStation P330?

 

https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/think-workstations/thinkstation-p-series-towers/ThinkStation-P330-Tower/p/WMD00000364

 

If so please let me know and I will have a moderator move this to the correct forum. 

 

@ Kapqa42 wrote:
 

 

Hello,

 

we have the following problem:

 

 

 

2 Lenovo Thinksystem P330 Workstation came with 2x8 non-ECC Ram configured;

adding 2 RAM sticks of the same size, original Lenovo, results in BootError with 3 - short , 1-long beep (supposedly memory issues).

 

This happens on both systems, and when trying to boot with the new Ram only, machines would boot.

Booting with 3 Sticks (3x8) is also functioning, 

however, when using 4 x 8 the described error occurs.

 

RAM is from Samsung, original by Lenovo 2666Mhz.

 

 

We also tried inserting one odd 2400 Module , instead of the 2666Mhz Samsung one, and this time the machine would also boot.

 

 

 

Please suggest a solution.

 

 

Thank you very much.

 

 

 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete