Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-10-2008
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

I forgot to say two importants things:

 

The problem started approximately 4 says after the update. During the first days, it was working fine

 

I use my laptop without the battery.

Serial Port
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-16-2009
Location: Poland
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

[ Edited ]

So, I reinstalled .NET 3.0 SP1 and still the same, even worse: Fn+F3 applet is not working now.

I can provide any necessary information, just tell me what.

 

Update: After google search I can see more people having this problem...

Message Edited by rufik on 07-23-2009 02:42 PM
Retired Employee
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

Hi,

yes I saw it and that is why I'm so strong on it, but nobody can tell me how exactly I can simulate this situation.
I have installed multiple systems (T400, T500, T60,T61, X301, ....) and fully updated using TVSU and no issue at all.

 

I have made also full Microsoft update and still no issue. 

 

If someone can provide me with exact description, that will on 100% work, then there is no problem to get this fixed.
Unfortunately till now is there nothing like that Smiley Sad

 

There have to be some configuration, that is causing this to happen, but I just can not point my finger on it. 

 

Rgrds

Serial Port
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-16-2009
Location: Poland
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

I can use debugger (WinDbg) to provide additional information about exception running PWMUI.EXE

Would it be helpful for you?

 

Retired Employee
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

Hi,

yes, that could be of use.


Let me know wnyone, if you have the steps, how I can setup the machine in here to see and fix this situation.

 

Rgrds

Serial Port
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-16-2009
Location: Poland
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

[ Edited ]

Hmmm, I wonder...maybe it's related to other software installed? ATI display drivers? Logitech software? I'll try to disable all thing in autostart and will see.

 

Update: ehhh, nothing helps, it looks like .NET related, becouse I have errors in event logs saying  ".NET Runtime 2.0 Error from pwmui.exe [...]".

 

Message Edited by rufik on 07-27-2009 03:13 PM
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-10-2008
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

I uninstalled and reinstalled PM and the driver. When I start the computer, the taskbar is busy and the Explorer does'nt respond. Here is the error I got:

 

roblem signature:

Problem Event Name: AppHangB1

Application Name: Explorer.EXE

Application Version: 6.0.6002.18005

Application Timestamp: 49e01da5

Hang Signature: 6195

Hang Type: 16897

OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.256.6

Locale ID: 4105

Additional Hang Signature 1: 2df28e3de53902cb19edca4e0502f309

Additional Hang Signature 2: 89cf

Additional Hang Signature 3: 109570bfe3dee04a18bd348a6941af07

Additional Hang Signature 4: dfb8

Additional Hang Signature 5: dced8b9f13ee306726cb198a04dd90df

Additional Hang Signature 6: ecf0

Additional Hang Signature 7: 84b93dc010fff88e2e002598dc7d6a1d

Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-10-2009
Location: United States, PA
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

I also encountered the same problem after the recent updates off the Lenovo web site to my T400. Additionally I have a drag to disc drive.lnk unavailable message on start up. Wish we could get this fixed.
Retired Employee
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

Hi,

I have fully checked the dump file, however, that does not explain the reason, or describes, what is exactly going on. 

 

 This seems to be a hard one. Wil check for future.

 

Rgrds

Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-25-2008
Location: Rochester, NY
0 Kudos

Re: Power Manager not working after last update 2.50

I too am having this problem with Power Manager hanging on startup, which began with v2.50 and continues with v2.51.

 

All my drivers and thinkpad utilities are up to date according the the latest product support page as of today (09-21-09).

.NET versions 1.1 - 3.5 including all updates and service packs are installed on the machine.

 

I'm running Vista x64 sp2 and I wonder if this could be a 32bit vs 64bit compatibility issue. Are people running 32bit versions of windows having this problem too?

 

I've also noticed that there are fewer power management options than within windows' default power manager. Perhaps they are conflicting with each other? Is there a way to just use one or the other? As far as I can tell the only useful thing that ThinkVantage Power Manager does that windows does not is give me the ability to switch graphics cards. Is it really necessary to include such redundant features in the ThinkVantage software?

 

Dear Lenovo, I've had my W500 for about a year now, it's been a bumpy road of driver wackiness, but resolving this issue might be the last step to stability. Please resolve it soon, it will be a happy day when i can just use my computer without cursing this part or that for its quirky driver behavior.

 

Thank you,

 

P.S. I do appreciate your efforts at Lenovo, there have been a lot of software/driver issues, but you guys always seem to come through with a solution eventually. Keep up the good work.

 

W500 4058-CTO : T9400 : 4GB DDR3 : 2GB Turbo : 320GB Seagate 7200.3 : WUXGA : Vista Biz x64 SP2