Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please noteour guidelines.How to register and login andCommunity FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

visit the blogCheck out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0 Kudos

Toolbox won't install

Installing toolbox on aTt60 series 2007. Hangs at "execute pcdoctor/pcdr5cuiw32.exe-backgroundmonsetup." Have removed previous version of pcdoctor prior to installation. First tried several automatic updates always stalled at 91% complete. Have to stop process in windows task manager in order to uninstall. Operating system windows XP service pack 3.

Solution?

Posts: 1,928
Kudos: 162
Solutions: 96
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Toolbox won't install

try thishttp://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-73783




_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Highlighted
Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0 Kudos

Re: Toolbox won't install

No success. Hangs at "execute pcdoctor/pcdr5cuiw32.exe-backgroundmonsetup" Thanks for trying to help. I do get the icon in the start menu but when activated I get a run time error. Will reinstall PCdoctor 5 toolbox which worked fine. Not happy with Lenovo's recent updates. Hotkey update I believe gives me a ACPI  ATK0100 driver error on start up, and the Communications update does not recognize that I am connected to the Internet!! Everything worked fine before!! Must be an important message in this.

Posts: 1,928
Kudos: 162
Solutions: 96
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Toolbox won't install

have you tried shuting down your firewall durring the install prosses may help & update to the latest bios




_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0 Kudos

Re: Toolbox won't install

I have the latest BIOS for the T60. All files downloaded and extracted without issue. I will try the firewall turn off, but I would be surprised if that is the issue since PC doctor 5 installs without a problem. Having installed and unistalled 5 times I will give it a rest for now. Having read the various messages in this forum  theTool Box looks like unwanted marketing and spyware !! But thanks for your advice.

 

I did solve my ACPI ATK0100 issue, I had the wrong driver installed.

Posts: 1,928
Kudos: 162
Solutions: 96
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Toolbox won't install

I miss understood thought it would not download but could be your anti virus stopping it from installing I like the toolbox it does a lot more than pcdoc it has everything about your system in one place including warranty info




_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Location: Atlanta GA
0 Kudos

Re: Toolbox won't install

My R61i is having the same problem. Downloaded the app from IBM's site, install uninstalled the previous version & proceeded through this install until the 'execute c:\program files\... -backgroundmonsetup' point, been sitting there over 10 minutes.

Jim in Atlanta
R61i 8932-A17
X61 tablet 7764-CTO
X61s 7668-CTO
Posts: 1,928
Kudos: 162
Solutions: 96
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Toolbox won't install

you don't have any programs like system mechanic that stops programs from installing I have system mechanic  system guard that stops everything I get a popup that says allow or block some antivirus will block things with 32.exe in them




_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0 Kudos

Re: Toolbox won't install

I am using Microsoft security essentials as my anti virus and so far it has behaved in down loading other programs. In reading through the various submissions to this discussion group quite a few persons seem to be having the same issue. Its a pity that the ThinkVantage section is not catagorized by topic.

Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0 Kudos

Re: Toolbox won't install

I am confused your link is to the site that I downloaded the program from.