Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

12-08-2008

Magnolia, DE

14 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Magnolia, DE
  • Views: 58
  • Message 1 of 9

W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2011-07-22, 15:08 PM

I recently upgraded my W500 to Windows 7 from XP.  I have everything working fine except for one thing:  When I start up my W500 in the port replicator, I do not get any signal to my external monitor until the Windows logon.  While that may not be an issue for some folks, I have a hard drive password set, and while I can type it in, I have no idea if it is correct or not.  Is there a video display setting in the BIOS that will send a video signal to the external monitor as soon as I power the W500 on?  This was never an issue with XP (external display came right on at power up).

 

Thanks!

Reply
Answer
Options

8 Posts

12-08-2008

Magnolia, DE

14 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Magnolia, DE
  • Views: 58

Re: W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2011-07-23, 14:25 PM

I FINALLY figured it out!  In the BIOS under display, I changed the video setting to discrete, saved it and exited out, went back into the BIOS and then the DVI monitor was an available choice.  Selected that, saved, exitedm put W500 back in the dock, and voila -- a display at startup!!

Reply

Replies(8)
Options

9380 Posts

11-27-2007

Slovakia

15518 Signins

2040239 Page Views

  • Posts: 9380
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2007
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 2040239
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2011-07-22, 19:01 PM

Did you run a BIOS update before or after updating to Windows 7?

 

If so it will have probably reverted to BIOS defaults and you need to change the BIOS stteings in Config > Display > Boot Display Device so that the default is your external screen.

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

12-08-2008

Magnolia, DE

14 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Magnolia, DE
  • Views: 58
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2011-07-23, 13:42 PM

Andy,

 

When I go into the BIOS config for video, my only two choices are "internal" and "PCI Express".  My dock is the 2504 (mini dock), and my external monitor is connected to the DVI port.   I believe I ran the BIOS update after I installed Win 7.  In any case, I did try using "PCI Express" just for kicks and I still do not get a display on initial startup (the only way I know it is time to entermy HD password is when I see the green light on my wireless keyboard/mouse USB adapter light up). 

 

Any ideas? 

 

Thanks!

Reply
Options

8 Posts

12-08-2008

Magnolia, DE

14 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Magnolia, DE
  • Views: 58
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2011-07-23, 13:44 PM

BTW, my model type is W500, 4061-BK8 Win7 x64

Reply
Answer
Options

8 Posts

12-08-2008

Magnolia, DE

14 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Magnolia, DE
  • Views: 58
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2011-07-23, 14:25 PM

I FINALLY figured it out!  In the BIOS under display, I changed the video setting to discrete, saved it and exited out, went back into the BIOS and then the DVI monitor was an available choice.  Selected that, saved, exitedm put W500 back in the dock, and voila -- a display at startup!!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2 Posts

09-14-2011

Sacramento, CA

57 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎09-14-2011
  • Location: Sacramento, CA
  • Views: 32
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2011-09-14, 23:43 PM

I'm running into the same problem since upgrading to Win7 as it worked fine with XP.  I've got the same PC (W500) with the same replicator (type 2504).  I'm not quite following your steps as when I go into the BIOS, I change to "discrete", hit F10 and I can see the boot process on my external monitor but now windows doesn't see my external monitor when I go into the screen resolution screen after the boot completes.  The only thing that shows up is "(Default monitor) on".  Can you give me a little more detail on the steps you took to get it to recognize the external monitor hooked to the replication.

 

Thanks much!

 

-- Chris 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

09-14-2011

Sacramento, CA

57 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎09-14-2011
  • Location: Sacramento, CA
  • Views: 32
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2011-09-16, 17:29 PM

I finally figured out what you meant in your last post but I've still got a few questions about your settings.  I've now got a display on my external monitor during boot which is a good start but now when booted it doesn't recognize my external monitor as the only choice is "(Default Monitor) on" whereas before the BIOS setting changes it did.  Is this what you see or does it seem to recognize your external monitor for what it is?  I'm also now getting an ATI error message upon boot - "No ATI graphics driver is installed, or the ATI driver is not functioning properly.  Please install the ATI driver appropriate for your ATI hardware" ... any clues on that?

 

My BIOS version on the W500 is 3.09 (6FET79WW) dated 2009-10-02 ... what's your version?  Also my BIOS settings are are as follows:

 

Define Primary Video Device - Internal

Boot Display Device  - Digital (DisplayPort)

Graphics Device - Discrete Graphics

OS Detection for Switchable Graphics - Disabled

 

On the Boot Display Device, I do see a "Digital (DVI)" option but it doesn't seem to matter between the one I've chosen and the DVI option.  I've also disabled the OS Detection as if I leave it enabled, it defaults back and I don't see a boot time display the next boot cycle.  Are my settings any different from yours?  If so, how?

 

Thanks much!

 

-- Chris

 

 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

12-08-2008

Magnolia, DE

14 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Magnolia, DE
  • Views: 58
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2012-04-11, 14:05 PM

Chris, just getting back to this, as I had forgotten about it, and in fact am still having the problem.  Since I had to change my HD password, I am trying to get the external display to start on boot up.  I did get it to work at least 1x, here is my bios settings:

 

Define Primary Video Device - Internal

Boot Display Device  - Digital (DVI)

Graphics Device - Discrete Graphics

OS Detection for Switchable Graphics - Enabled

 

As I said above, when I made these changes and started up in the dock, I did see the display.  But I seem to recall it only worked 1x the last time I tried this a year ago...hoping for more luck this time!

 

My BIOS version:  6FET91WW (3.21)

Reply
Options

1 Posts

10-12-2012

Australia

1 Signins

5 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎10-12-2012
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 5
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: W500 -- No external display on startup / port replicator

2012-10-12, 4:28 AM

Setting the BIOS to Discrete Graphics, and display to be on Port 2 on the port replicator. Booted machine, installed the drivers. Once restarted the bios had reverted back to the original settings so I had to set it to deiscrete graphics and port 2 again. Now i see bios on the external monitor connected to the display port.

 

T520 windows 7

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms