cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Yethal
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2019
Location: PL
Views: 4,915
Message 1 of 8

Remapping the ThinkVantage button on WIndows 10

Solution described here: link doesn't work on Windows 10. However it is entirely possible to remap the ThinkVantage button on Windows 10. Here are the steps:

1. Open regedit as admin

2. Navigate to Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Lenovo\ShortcutKey\AppLaunch (if the directory doesn't exist install Lenovo drivers)

3. In AppLaunch directory create a new Key called 'Ex_17' (without quotes)

4. In Ex_17 directory create a new Key called 'Desktop' (without quotes)

5. In Desktop directory create a new String value named File.

6. Right click on the newly created File value and select Modify option

7. In value data field provide path to the executable/batch script/whatever you want to launch

8. Save changes

9. Voila your thinkvantage button now launches whatever app you want on Windows 10

 

I literally created an account here to share this. Hope this helps.

X230 w/ X220 keyboard mod
T450
USB keyboard w/ trackpoint
tc3sean
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-21-2019
Location: US
Views: 4,800
Message 2 of 8

Re: Remapping the ThinkVantage button on WIndows 10

I want to say that you are awesome for creating this guide!

I have an x230 running w10 and I did everything and it is not working for me. I already had the appropriate folders created.

I want to open chrome, and I was wondering if having this for step 7 the data field is correct. "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"

Thank you.
Yethal
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2019
Location: PL
Views: 4,771
Message 3 of 8

Re: Remapping the ThinkVantage button on WIndows 10

Please post a screenshot of the registry keys and folders you created. It'll be easier for me to help

X230 w/ X220 keyboard mod
T450
USB keyboard w/ trackpoint
tc3sean
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-21-2019
Location: US
Views: 4,758
Message 4 of 8

Re: Remapping the ThinkVantage button on WIndows 10

Sure thing here it is

image.png

Hontogu
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-31-2019
Location: CA
Views: 4,154
Message 5 of 8

Re: Remapping the ThinkVantage button on WIndows 10

Hi Yethal, Thank you for your post!!

 

I have a Thinkpad T520 with pre-installed win7, but after accidentally updated to win10, the blue thinkvantage button on the keyboard does not work anymore. And I even cannot use it to recover to win7 factory setting.

 

Could you please give some ideas? thank you so much!

LGPG
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-28-2019
Location: US
Views: 1,088
Message 6 of 8

Re: Remapping the ThinkVantage button on WIndows 10

Not working on my x230, win 10

How can I do?

Please help

Highlighted
Len25301430
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-05-2019
Location: US
Views: 865
Message 7 of 8

Re: Remapping the ThinkVantage button on WIndows 10

This didn't work for my W530. I managed to get it working by adding another string value named Parameters and one named apptype

 

So the steps I took are:

 

1. Open regedit as admin

2. Navigate to Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Lenovo\ShortcutKey\AppLaunch (if the directory doesn't exist install Lenovo drivers)

3. In AppLaunch directory create a new Key called 'Ex_17' (without quotes)

3-1. In Ex_17 directory create new DWORD value called 'AppType' (without quotes)

3-2. Right click on the newly created AppType value and select Modify option

3-3. In value data field type '10001' (without quotes). In base, select hexadecimal.

4. In Ex_17 directory create a new Key called 'Desktop' (without quotes)

5. In Desktop directory create a new String value named File.

6. Right click on the newly created File value and select Modify option

7. In value data field provide path to the executable/batch script/whatever you want to launch

7-1. In Desktop directory create a new string value named Parameters. (leave data field blank)

8. Save changes

9. Voila your thinkvantage button now launches whatever app you want on Windows 10

 

The registry should look something like the screenshots when you are done.(I have my button set to open the calculator)

Annotation 2019-12-05 032519.png

Annotation 2019-12-05 030909.png

LGPG
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-28-2019
Location: US
Views: 853
Message 8 of 8

Re: Remapping the ThinkVantage button on WIndows 10

Thank You so much
Works perfectly

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors