cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bengalih
Serial Port
Views: 7,592
Message 1 of 2

W530 - Synaptics Touchpad freezes with Windows 10 (1709)

* Let me preface by saying that I have no experience with this issue on another operating system for any extended period of time.  The laptop came with Windows 7 and in the limited time I was testing with that I had no issues.  I installed Windows 10 (1709) fresh and have had the issue consistently since then.  My tests indicate this is a driver and not a hardware issue *

Basically, what is happening is about once or twice an hour my touchpad pointer will become non-responsive.  I will move my finger on the pad and the mouse either doesn't move or doesn't appear (if offscreen/hidden/etc).

During this time the touchpad buttons work and the TrackPoint stick also works to move the pointer.  The issue seems limited to just the pad.

When the issue occurs it lasts for about 5 seconds or so.  During this time I try several things like tapping multiple times on the pad, trying to push harder, or moving the TrackPoint stick.  It seems that the latter often seems to kick control back.  TBH, I haven't yet shown enough patience to let it sit for 15 seconds and see if the control returns (I will be doing some more testing on all of this).

I am using the Windows 10 drivers shown on the download page:

Synaptics ThinkPad UltraNav Driver for Windows 10 (32-bit, 64-bit) - ThinkPad 19.0.17.135 - 1/28/18

I have tried other drivers from different Lenovo products (some earlier some later).

Either the drivers don't work at all, or they get rid of some important features (like the use of the middle button for scrolling).

I also cannot use the native Windows drivers becuase they too don't allow the middle button and especially because they have no ability to disable the tap-to-click feature which I cannot use.