English Community

Software and Operating SystemWindows 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP Discussions
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

05-26-2011

Houston, TX

117 Signins

228 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2011
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Views: 228
  • Message 1 of 10

Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-16, 14:04 PM

Hi All,

 

I just got my x220 tablet, yesterday.  It was ordered on 4/22, what a long wait.

 

So far seems are going well, except that I can't get it to join my homegroup network.  I checked the password on two different machines on my network and the pw was the same.  I even copied the pw and emailed to myself so I could just copy it into the box and it still says it's the wrong pw.

 

I have tried changing some of the capital letters around, but nothing works, always says it's the wrong pw.

 

A web post said to make some services automatic vs. manual so I did that, but it still won't accept the pw.

 

Any suggestions?

 

 

Thanks,

 

 

Merlin

 

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

63 Posts

10-24-2010

United States of America

71 Signins

472 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 472
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-16, 17:06 PM

Do you have any part or compoment of MS Windows Live installed?

Reply
Options

12 Posts

05-26-2011

Houston, TX

117 Signins

228 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2011
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Views: 228
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-16, 18:15 PM

Looking at installed programs, during the build Lenovo added:

 

Windows Live Essentials 2011

Windows Live Mesh ActiveX Control for Remote Connections

 

Your thoughts?

 

 

Thanks

 

Reply
Options

63 Posts

10-24-2010

United States of America

71 Signins

472 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 472
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-16, 20:21 PM

I had the issue of not being able to use Homegroup. After searching, I found references to installing Windows Live being the cause. After I uninstalled it (all of it, had to look twice...), it started working again. Uninstall had to be done on both machines that connected.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

05-26-2011

Houston, TX

117 Signins

228 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2011
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Views: 228
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-16, 20:38 PM

Can you reinstall after getting connected?

 

Thanks!

 

Merlin

 

Reply
Options

12 Posts

05-26-2011

Houston, TX

117 Signins

228 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2011
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Views: 228
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-16, 23:38 PM

I uninstalled all the Windows Live components on the two machines on the network and it still wouldn't accept this x220 tablet.

 

Any other ideas?  Really weird.

 

 

Thanks,


Merlin

 

Reply
Options

63 Posts

10-24-2010

United States of America

71 Signins

472 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 472
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-17, 4:24 AM

Did you uninstall everything? Is there a thing called "sign-in assistant" or something like this in your control panel-programs?

Reply
Options

12 Posts

05-26-2011

Houston, TX

117 Signins

228 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2011
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Views: 228
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-17, 12:21 PM

I am not sure what you mean by uninstalling everything?  I fully uninstalled Windows Live and rebooted both machines.  I don't recall having any difficulty adding all of the machines in my house to the network.

 

Maybe I need to do some sort of Windows repair?

 

By "sign-in assistant" are  you referring to the setup wizard for the Homegroup?  Yes, I was/am using that, it's a very simple process, but for some reason it won't recognize the password. 

 

I'm on the network, I have full internet service, in fact I was quite impressed with how fast it generates web pages, very snappy.

 

Thanks for the help!  I hope someone sees this post and knows the answer.

 

 

Sincerely,

 


Merlin

 

Reply
Options

63 Posts

10-24-2010

United States of America

71 Signins

472 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 472
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-17, 12:40 PM

No, there was a little "plug-in" (perhaps for browsers?) that came along with Windows Live, I think it gives you a toolbar or a button to sign in to windows Live from your browser my recollection is hazy.)  It was listed separately in the list of installed programs. I had to uninstall it to get Homegroup to work again.

Microsoft forums had an extensive discussion on this (earlier in 2011), you might want to search there for more help.

 

Good luck.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

05-26-2011

Houston, TX

117 Signins

228 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2011
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Views: 228
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: Cannot connect to my Homegroup?

2011-06-18, 15:47 PM

Problem resolved!

 

It was a date issue, I had failed to notice that it arrived with the wrong date on it.  <sigh>

 

Thanks for all the help!

 

 

Merlin

 

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms