01-06-2010

Missouri

45 Signins

1488 Page Views

• Views: 1488
  • Message 1 of 19

Need help with numerous issues with Windows 7 on a new T400

2010-01-06, 11:30 AM

I have a brand new, 43-hour-old, Lenovo T400 with Windows 7 Home Premium factory-installed. I had my cable company come out to set up the broadband this morning, but they couldn't set up my email because Windows Live Mail is not compatible for configuration with my local cable broadband. They also couldn't install the free anti-virus service that comes with the cable modem service, because it is not compatible with Windows 7. This is my first computer in 5 years (was offline entirely for 4.5 years until last June, when I got my Blackberry, so please forgive my naiivete' [sorry, I know that is misspelled; I don't know how to type an "i" with an umlaut; my BB auto-corrects the spelling on that word]), so I have never used Vista before, but have read enough to know that it sounds like a disaster waiting to happen. Is there a way to downgrade a factory-installed Windows 7 OS on a Lenovo T400 to XP?