Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemWindows 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP Discussions
All Forum Topics
Options

110 Posts

10-26-2009

Los Angeles, CA

160 Signins

834 Page Views

• Views: 834
  • Message 1 of 5

OS Upgrade Path - T500

2009-10-26, 21:32 PM

Hi. I'm quite new to Lenovo Thinkpads so I'm going to need some guidance from the community at large to figure out the best upgrade path to Windows 7 Professional. 

My T500 is equipped with:

Intel Core Duo T9600 (2.80GHz)

4GB RAM

Intel Turbo Memory

160GB Hard Drive (7200rpm)

AT&T Mobile Broadband Card (Ericcson)

Vista Home Basic 32-bit

To get from the present state to Windows 7 Professional, what's the best approach? Should I clean install Vista 64-bit (which I have a disk for) then get an upgrade to 7 Pro? Should I just go with the clean install 7 Pro? 

I have concerns over 7 Pro being compatible with all the hardware and software I have... and also being able to reinstall all the Lenovo software that came with the notebook. (if I went with the former upgrade path, the same concerns exist)

I would appreciate some advice / guidance on these issues. Thanks.

Moderator note; model added to subject.

Options

226 Posts

05-30-2009

Canada

644 Signins

3001 Page Views

• Views: 3001
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: OS Upgrade Path - T500

2009-10-27, 2:11 AM

Well, from someone who's been in the business since DOS 1.0, here's a simple and absolutely reliable and proven rule for system stability:

NEVER NEVER NEVER UPGRADE

When install any Windows O/S, delete all existing partitions during Setup and let Setup re-partition the drives automatically.

I have a new T500 (similar to your but 3.06 GHz processor) and here's my recommendation to install a clean x86 or x64 system.