Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemWindows 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP Discussions
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

09-19-2012

Stuttgart

5 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2012
  • Location: Stuttgart
  • Views: 24
  • Message 1 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2012-09-19, 7:16 AM

Hello,

I have the same kind of problem.

My E530 ran well for about one month. Now I installed Windows 8 Enterprise as multiboot.

On the first weeks everything still went well, but since one week Windows 7 occasionally takes 5-6minutes to boot, showing a black screen with just the (movable) mouse pointer.

On three or four occasions the same error message appeared.

Now and then the system boots up normally, but eccinfo shows:

 

C:\Windows\system32>eccmd -info
ExpressCache Command Version 1.0.86.0
Copyright® 2010-2011 Diskeeper Corporation.
Date Time: 9/19/2012 9:12:57:476 (MARKUS-THINK #0)

EC Cache Info
==================================================
==================================================
Mounted                   : No
Partition Size            : 0 Bytes
Reserved Size             : 0 Bytes
Volume Size               : 0 Bytes
Total Used Size           : 0 Bytes
Total Free Space          : 0 Bytes
Used Data Size            : 0 Bytes
Used Data Size on Disk    : 0 Bytes

Cache Stats
==================================================
Cache Volume Drive Number : 1
Total Read Count          : 0
Total Read Size           : 0 Bytes
Total Cache Read Count    : 0
Total Cache Read Size     : 0 Bytes
Total Write Count         : 0
Total Write Size          : 0 Bytes
Total Cache Write Count   : 0
Total Cache Write Size    : 0 Bytes

Cache Read Percent        : 0.00%
Cache Write Percent       : 0.00%

HFS Volume is not mounted.

 

So it seems as the cache is empty and not even mounted.

Both my Windows 7 and 8 are Enterprise editions, but none of them has Bitlocker or any other encryption software activated.

 

Are there any known problems with expresscache software, are there new versions?

And, why can't I install Intel acceleration software, since the chipset should the genuine intel SSD acceleration software?

 

Thanks in advance,

gromit42

 

Moderator Note; post moved to here, subject edited

Reply
Options

19 Posts

08-25-2012

Houston, Texas, USA

52 Signins

298 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎08-25-2012
  • Location: Houston, Texas, USA
  • Views: 298
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2012-09-20, 22:05 PM

I'd get rid of expresscache until official Win8 drivers come out for it.

 

As an alternative, you could mount and format the mSATA card as a normal drive (with Disk Management) and set it as a ReadyBoost drive.  That should give you a similar performance benefit.

Reply
Options

5 Posts

09-24-2012

Los Angeles

8 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎09-24-2012
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Views: 50
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2012-09-28, 18:34 PM

Hi gromit42,

 

Although ExpressCache is WHQL (Windows Hardware Quality Labs) certified by Microsoft for Windows 7 and Windows 8, ExpressCache is not officially supported for use with Windows 8 until the operating system is officially release by Microsoft.

 

Alex Klein

Condusiv Technologies 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-20-2012

Germany

17 Signins

89 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2012
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 89
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2012-11-05, 21:27 PM

 

Windows 8 is now officially released. So what about ExpressCache (e.g. for my Thinkpad Edge S430)?

 

Is it ok to use EC version 1.0.86 64-bit which works for Windows7?

 

Joerg

Reply
Options

137 Posts

08-12-2008

Florida, USA

1650 Signins

8475 Page Views

  • Posts: 137
  • Registered: ‎08-12-2008
  • Location: Florida, USA
  • Views: 8475
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2012-11-06, 14:08 PM

From my experience,

 

Three days ago I did a clean install of Win 8 Pro x64 in my E420 with a 32GB mSATA.

 

ExpressCache 1.0.86 is working fine for me.


E420, i5, 8GB, 500GB/7200, 32GB mSATA, Win 8.1 Pro x64
T61, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid, Win 8.1 Pro x64
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-20-2012

Germany

17 Signins

89 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2012
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 89
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2012-11-08, 16:35 PM

 

 

 

Did the same succesfully with S430. I am using only a 18GB partition of my 128GB mSATA SSD as cache for the data on HDD at D:. Rest of SSD is boot partition. This is working fine and fast.

 

Does anyone know how I can re-install applications that were bundled with my S430 Win7 espacially Corel WinDVD? Even when I set compatibility with the "previous Windows version" the setup tells me "The programm does not support your current operating system".

 

 

 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

02-11-2013

Portugal

9 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎02-11-2013
  • Location: Portugal
  • Views: 106
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2013-02-12, 23:17 PM

Hello DAF

 

Where did you downloaded the ExpressCache software? Also, where did you download the Windows 8 ISO? My E530 comes with Windows 8 Pro x64 but i want to make a clean install on it but i want to use the serial that the laptop brings on it (Is in BIOS).

Reply
Options

137 Posts

08-12-2008

Florida, USA

1650 Signins

8475 Page Views

  • Posts: 137
  • Registered: ‎08-12-2008
  • Location: Florida, USA
  • Views: 8475
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2013-02-13, 19:26 PM

My E420 had a factory Win 7 Home install.

 

I purchased the Win 8 Pro retail from Microsoft when it was offered for $49.99

.

I don't know where you can find a Win 8 OS for download without purchase.

 

If you have a friend that purchased the OS and they are willing to let you use the disk (with your license) you should be able to do a clean install.

 

The ExpressCache (64bit) software for Thinkpads is at:

 

http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles/expresscache_setup_64.exe

 

Good luck!


E420, i5, 8GB, 500GB/7200, 32GB mSATA, Win 8.1 Pro x64
T61, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid, Win 8.1 Pro x64
Reply
Options

137 Posts

08-12-2008

Florida, USA

1650 Signins

8475 Page Views

  • Posts: 137
  • Registered: ‎08-12-2008
  • Location: Florida, USA
  • Views: 8475
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2013-02-13, 20:47 PM

One probably better option, if your PC already came with a factory Windows 8 installation, is to use the built-in tools in Windows 8: Refresh or Reset. No install disk is required!

 

•REFRESH -  Gives the OS a refresh but leaves all your files and settings untouched. Apps downloaded from the Windows Store will be kept but other applications will be lost.

 

•RESET - Resets everything; all installed apps, applications, files, and settings are junked and the system is back to a fresh install.

 

You can read more about these options on Windows Knowledge Base


E420, i5, 8GB, 500GB/7200, 32GB mSATA, Win 8.1 Pro x64
T61, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid, Win 8.1 Pro x64
Reply
Options

8 Posts

02-11-2013

Portugal

9 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎02-11-2013
  • Location: Portugal
  • Views: 106
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: ExpressCache Broken after Installing Windows 8

2013-02-13, 22:34 PM

Thank you for your reply.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms