Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemWindows 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP Discussions
All Forum Topics
Options

18 Posts

03-22-2009

the Netherlands

32 Signins

172 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2009
  • Location: the Netherlands
  • Views: 172
  • Message 1 of 9

T500 to Win7?

2009-10-23, 19:54 PM

 

I want to upgrade to Win7 my T-500, type 2241 CTO. When I run Win7 upgrade advisor, it give the following message both for  32 bit and 64 bit:

"Your current graphics adapter won't support the Windows Aero user interface. If you want to experience the benefits of Windows Aero, contact your PC manufacturer or retailer to see if an upgrade is available."

 

Will  i experience any problems after installing Win7?

 

Reply
Options

3322 Posts

07-31-2008

Pakistan

1715 Signins

151632 Page Views

  • Posts: 3322
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2008
  • Location: Pakistan
  • Views: 151632
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: T500 to Win7?

2009-10-23, 20:01 PM

Hi Gordik,


Which graphics card do you have?

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Reply
Options

9 Posts

04-03-2009

new jersey, usa

107 Signins

621 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎04-03-2009
  • Location: new jersey, usa
  • Views: 621
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: T500 to Win7?

2009-10-23, 20:33 PM

i got the same message running the upgrade advisor on my t500 with an ATI Mobility Radeon HD3650 with 256mb of ram. i was planning to upgrade to windows 7, but if i can't run aero, i don't see the point. i bought this laptop last spring. i'm disappointed that it doesn't support aero.

 

update: just went to the thinkpad site to see what graphics options are currently offered for the t500 laptops.

it's the same exact option that i have! and they come with windows 7 home premium. so, is lenovo selling

laptops that don't support aero? or is the upgrade advisor returning incorrect advice?

 

Reply
Options

8095 Posts

11-19-2007

United States of America

10101 Signins

400183 Page Views

  • Posts: 8095
  • Registered: ‎11-19-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 400183
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: T500 to Win7?

2009-10-23, 21:59 PM

Mkr,

 

I have to believe this is some mistake in identifying the system but will check into it.

 

Mark

Reply
Options

9 Posts

04-03-2009

new jersey, usa

107 Signins

621 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎04-03-2009
  • Location: new jersey, usa
  • Views: 621
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: T500 to Win7?

2009-10-25, 14:17 PM

thanks mark. i appreciate it.

 

mike

Reply
Options

68 Posts

11-27-2007

Morrisville, NC

99 Signins

1025 Page Views

  • Posts: 68
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2007
  • Location: Morrisville, NC
  • Views: 1025
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: T500 to Win7?

2009-10-25, 14:57 PM

Let me 2nd Mark.  All versions of the T500, regardless of which graphics cards are inside, have more than enough power to run the full Aero Win 7 experience.  (Quite well, too, I might add).

-------
Matt Kohut
Lenovo Product Marketing
Reply
Options

2 Posts

10-26-2009

Germany

12 Signins

66 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 66
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: T500 to Win7?

2009-11-18, 23:43 PM

 

I own a T500 (ATI Mobility Radeon HD3650) and I have upgraded to Win 7 from XP , no problems, it works like a charm, including aero.

Reply
Options

2 Posts

01-10-2010

Los Angeles

10 Signins

77 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎01-10-2010
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Views: 77
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: T500 to Win7?

2010-03-02, 2:46 AM

My aero goes out every now and then.

sometimes the Aero trouble shooter fixes it.
sometimes the "additional troubleshooters" fix the Aero trouble shooter, which then fixes it

twice now nothing would fix it - then in exasperation I go to desktop and switch to the in-built Aero desktop (rather than my own) and it all comes back.  That has happened twice now.

 

It seems to be connected to the unexpected "Desktop Manager Quit Working" message.

I don't think "Magnifier" helps anything either.

 

Before I fixed it I tried the "disable" VT-d - but it was ALREADY disabled.

Reply
Options

2 Posts

01-10-2010

Los Angeles

10 Signins

77 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎01-10-2010
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Views: 77
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: T500 to Win7? found a solution

2010-03-31, 17:00 PM

ok - finally.  i had this sneaking suspicion that "Magnifier" was a problem.  So I turned it off, restarted, and voila!  Aero is back.
To turn off Magnifier:  Star | all programs | Accessories | Ease of Access | Ease of Access Center - then scroll down and find Magnifier and uncheck it.  OK.  Restart.

 

Hope it works.  Aero is so nice once you get accustomed to it.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms