English Community

Software and Operating SystemWindows 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP Discussions
All Forum Topics
Options

30 Posts

07-29-2009

GB

299 Signins

1319 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎07-29-2009
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 1319
  • Message 21 of 26

Re: Windows 7 ThinkVantage Access Connections beta software

2009-08-18, 18:47 PM

 


wrote:

Please guys from Lenovo, leave those boring sound or camera drivers for XP/VISTA.....we all need a new access connection version !!!!

 

 


 



I'm not sure that we do need Access Connections - I have been managing without it for a couple of weeks, just using Win7's built in network switching. This works pretty well. But then I have only been moving between domestic networks, I don't normally use it to talk to the company vpn.

I haven't had much success using it to connect to my work Cisco VPN via my Wifi network. I couldn't make it connect and set up the proxy, I had to do it manually in the end, so Access Connections scores nul points there! (version 5.40)

 

By the way, there's an interesting section on the Inside the Box blog about Win7 and utilities, including AC. (http://lenovoblogs.com/insidethebox/)

 

I have the same issue with the AC toolbar (which is what it is, not a taskbar icon). With today's widescreen systems, a side placing for the Taskbar is logical. I used to have an AC desktop gadget - that seems to have gone and I can't find a way to get it back :-(

 

 


Rgrds

Peter
Message Edited by filbert on 18-08-09 11:50 AM
Message Edited by filbert on 18-08-09 12:00 PM
Long time ThinkPad user: 770, 600, T40, X300, now X301 240gb SSD, 8 GB ram. Now playing with Yoga Book 10.1 Android
Reply
Options

11 Posts

06-04-2009

Berlin/Germany

16 Signins

160 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎06-04-2009
  • Location: Berlin/Germany
  • Views: 160
  • Message 22 of 26

Re: Windows 7 ThinkVantage Access Connections beta software

2009-08-18, 19:55 PM

Hello Peter:

 

If you're using different printerns, DNS servers, different FW- and/or IP-Settings in nearly every profile you would be glad if you have a working AC software. 

 

Thomas 

_________________
Product: ThinkPad X300 6477-18G & T500 2089-4DG
Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-12-2009

Germany

7 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-12-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 42
  • Message 23 of 26

still constantly crashes

2009-09-08, 14:13 PM

AC (if it worked) would be the only way to switch WLAN or Bluetooth separately from each other on and off.

 

But although there's a newer beta of AC, it's still not usable at all (constantly consumes memory until it's at 1.5 GB and then crashes).

 

And by the way, if you set the taskbar items to "small" then AC is the only thing that still is BIG and so the whole taskbar is still big and wastes a lot of empty screen real estate (since everything else in the bar is small). But since AC crashes anyway ...

Reply
Options

11 Posts

06-04-2009

Berlin/Germany

16 Signins

160 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎06-04-2009
  • Location: Berlin/Germany
  • Views: 160
  • Message 24 of 26

Re: still constantly crashes

2009-09-26, 11:28 AM

Hello jhartmann: Haven't seen it yet, but you're right. The taskbar is always big. :smileymad:

 

I've got another problem since the installation of the 18us.

The login procedure stops for about 1,5 minutes after sliding the finger over the reader/or typing in the password.

You see the standard login screen (the light blue one with the flowers) after about 10 seconds it switches to

a pure black screen with the mouse cursor. 60-90 seconds later you see the wallpaper and

the X300 continues loading the system. Now I deinstalled the 18 us with a reboot. Great. No wasted time.

After the installation of the 21ww it's there again. Not 90 seconds but about 30 seconds. This is an

improvement but far away from usable.

 

I hope that someone from Lenovo reads this message, so I can get a hint to solve that issue.

 

My Configuration:

X300 6477-18G

with 4 GB RAM

Windows 7 Professional RTM 64 Bit, original OEM version, NO faked RC or beta !!! Systeminfo reports:

Systemname:                            Microsoft Windows 7 Professional

Systemversion:                         6.1.7600 Nicht zutreffend Build 7600

 

I do not have that pause on my T500. The T500 starts smooth and fast.

(Win7 Ultimate RTM 32 Bit)

 

I've to check it out with the 21ww, but the 18us crashes every time with a bluescreen after connecting my UMTS (HSDPA) provider.

 

So please HELP !

 

Thomas

 

_________________
Product: ThinkPad X300 6477-18G & T500 2089-4DG
Reply
Options

11 Posts

06-04-2009

Berlin/Germany

16 Signins

160 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎06-04-2009
  • Location: Berlin/Germany
  • Views: 160
  • Message 25 of 26

Re: still constantly crashes

2009-09-27, 10:35 AM

And the 21ww crashes too:

Problemsignatur:
  Problemereignisname: BlueScreen
  Betriebsystemversion: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
  Gebietsschema-ID: 1031

Zusatzinformationen zum Problem:
  BCCode: c8
  BCP1: 0000000000000000
  BCP2: 0000000000000002
  BCP3: 0000000000000000
  BCP4: 0000000000000000
  OS Version: 6_1_7600
  Service Pack: 0_0
  Product: 256_1

Dateien, die bei der Beschreibung des Problems hilfreich sind:
  C:\Windows\Minidump\092709-12854-01.dmp
  C:\Users\Thomas Nolte\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-35287-0.sysdata.xml

Lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen online:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0407

Wenn die Onlinedatenschutzbestimmungen nicht verfügbar sind, lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\de-DE\erofflps.txt

 

Thomas

_________________
Product: ThinkPad X300 6477-18G & T500 2089-4DG
Reply
Options

4096 Posts

01-05-2008

DE

22104 Signins

317135 Page Views

  • Posts: 4096
  • Registered: ‎01-05-2008
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 317135
  • Message 26 of 26

AC. Final 5.42 isn't better -propper handled statusbar- X300

2009-11-21, 13:05 PM

Moved to ThinkVantage Technologies.

 

Edit: Thread closed, cause the final version of AC is already online. Please update, if you run BETA AC in the moment.

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using Lenovo Yoga C930, ThinkPad X1 Carbon 5th Gen. Silver Edition, ThinkPad 13, Yoga 900, ThinkPad T460s, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete