Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemWindows 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP Discussions
All Forum Topics
Options

22 Posts

04-06-2008

Oslo, Norway and Vienna, Austria

17 Signins

164 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎04-06-2008
  • Location: Oslo, Norway and Vienna, Austria
  • Views: 164
  • Message 1 of 6

"Factory default" partition after migration to Win7?

2009-11-26, 11:19 AM

Hi,

 

I have migrated from Vista to Win7 through the upgrade disks from Lenovo. After heaps of issues, I now seem to have a stable system with all devices working.

 

Thinking ahead, I'd be comfortable backing up the OS so that I have a kind of factory default similar to the preload that came in a separate partition in Vista.

 

After installation, in addition to the local disk (C:) partition, there is a Lenovo (D:) partition on my harddrive. This has the application LenovoQdrive.exe there. My question is if the Win7 installation created a new preload for me on this drive, or if this is simply residues from Vista. Appreciate advice on a way forward to get a preload win7 with my current installation.

Cheers, Thorbjorn

T400s | 2808-CYG | SSD | 4GB RAM | Windows7 Prof. 32bit
Reply
Answer
Options

42 Posts

07-06-2009

us

48 Signins

486 Page Views

  • Posts: 42
  • Registered: ‎07-06-2009
  • Location: us
  • Views: 486

Re: "Factory default" partition after migration to Win7?

2009-11-28, 0:16 AM

I did a disk image useing win 7 after all programs, drivers, updates were installed. i put the image on a ext. usb drive and put it in the safe. I then created a bootable system repair disk useing win 7. After creating the disk I copied all the files on the disk over to a bootable usb thumb 4 gb stick. I can now boot the machine with the usb thumb drive and format and install the image from the usb ext. drive in about 20 minutes. All of my date is stored on SD cards and backed up to the safe on a daily basis.

Reply

Replies(5)
Options

22 Posts

04-06-2008

Oslo, Norway and Vienna, Austria

17 Signins

164 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎04-06-2008
  • Location: Oslo, Norway and Vienna, Austria
  • Views: 164
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: "Factory default" partition after migration to Win7?

2009-11-27, 21:59 PM

Wow, am I really the only one who installed Win7 and would like to know how I can make sure I have a copy of the installed OS to be able to restore it?

Cheers, Thorbjorn

T400s | 2808-CYG | SSD | 4GB RAM | Windows7 Prof. 32bit
Reply
Options

137 Posts

08-12-2008

Florida, USA

1650 Signins

8475 Page Views

  • Posts: 137
  • Registered: ‎08-12-2008
  • Location: Florida, USA
  • Views: 8475
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: "Factory default" partition after migration to Win7?

2009-11-28, 0:09 AM

Upgraded from Vista  to Win 7 Professional 32 a couple of weeks ago. I used an upgrade disk and selected custom install at boot up. Windows automatically moved the existing Vista installation including applications and data to a windows.old directory in the main (C) partition. Win 7 installation was flawless and in essence a clean install. I then installed System Update to load new drivers. I also had to reinstall my applications and move my data from the windows.old directory.  The service partition with the original Vista factory installation was left intact.  I have tested the recovery from boot up and it works as before.


E420, i5, 8GB, 500GB/7200, 32GB mSATA, Win 8.1 Pro x64
T61, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid, Win 8.1 Pro x64
Reply
Answer
Options

42 Posts

07-06-2009

us

48 Signins

486 Page Views

  • Posts: 42
  • Registered: ‎07-06-2009
  • Location: us
  • Views: 486
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: "Factory default" partition after migration to Win7?

2009-11-28, 0:16 AM

I did a disk image useing win 7 after all programs, drivers, updates were installed. i put the image on a ext. usb drive and put it in the safe. I then created a bootable system repair disk useing win 7. After creating the disk I copied all the files on the disk over to a bootable usb thumb 4 gb stick. I can now boot the machine with the usb thumb drive and format and install the image from the usb ext. drive in about 20 minutes. All of my date is stored on SD cards and backed up to the safe on a daily basis.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

22 Posts

04-06-2008

Oslo, Norway and Vienna, Austria

17 Signins

164 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎04-06-2008
  • Location: Oslo, Norway and Vienna, Austria
  • Views: 164
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: "Factory default" partition after migration to Win7?

2009-11-30, 21:04 PM

Thanks for these tips, I guess I'll create this kind of image and place it on the local harddrive as well as copying it to external bootable media.

Cheers, Thorbjorn

T400s | 2808-CYG | SSD | 4GB RAM | Windows7 Prof. 32bit
Reply
Options

9 Posts

12-07-2009

New Mexico

15 Signins

115 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: New Mexico
  • Views: 115
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: "Factory default" partition after migration to Win7?

2009-12-10, 3:07 AM

Can the 'Factory Default' partition be deleted after setting up Win7?

Thanks!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms