Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemWindows 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP Discussions
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

07-30-2012

belgie

7 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎07-30-2012
  • Location: belgie
  • Views: 25
  • Message 1 of 16

thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-07-30, 1:52 AM

hi 

is there a way to upgrade from 32 bits to 64 bits on a thinkpad R60 ??

im current using windows 7 ultimate alienware (32 bits) 4gig RAM (use only 2,5 gig)

I want to upgrade to windows 7 alienware 64 bits and use my full 4 gigs of RAM

 

so does someone knows how  can do that ??

 

greetzz Jan

Reply
Options

247 Posts

07-19-2012

Raleigh, North Carolina

283 Signins

13588 Page Views

  • Posts: 247
  • Registered: ‎07-19-2012
  • Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Views: 13588
  • Message 2 of 16

Re: thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-07-31, 20:29 PM

Hi there mrnice1lol,

 

This information from the Windows support site should answer your questions: 32-bit and 64-bit Windows: frequently asked questions Basically, you'll need to have a Windows 7 64 bit installation disc to upgrade to the 64 bit OS.

__________________________________________________

Was this or another post on the forum helpful? Click the star on the left side of the screen to give kudos! Did someone solve a problem you encountered? Mark it as "solution provided" to help others with the same problem.
Reply
Options

8095 Posts

11-19-2007

United States of America

10101 Signins

400183 Page Views

  • Posts: 8095
  • Registered: ‎11-19-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 400183
  • Message 3 of 16

Re: thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-08-01, 13:54 PM

 

RedEd,

 

Thanks for the great MS Windows 32 & 64 bit information links!  Great background information!

 

mrnice1lol,

 

The general wisdom is to move to 64 bit to overcome 32 bit memory addressability limitations, however the R60 also has a chipset limitation of 3 GB, so in this particular case, upgrading it to 64 bit Windows, won't unlock that extra GB of memory for you.  The other half a GB is reserved for video memory and other overhead which is why you are seeing 2.5 GB vs the 3GB max and 4GB installed.

 

Here are the R60 Specs...taken from our support site here.

 

Memory
  • PC2-5300 Non-Parity (NP) Double Data Rate Two (DDR2) Technology
    • The use of 667 MHz SO DIMM memory is recommended for this system.
  • 256 MB, 512 MB, or 1 GB standard memory
  • Supports maximum memory up to 3GB
    • Recommended for memory expansion are 2 GB PC2-4200 DDR2 SDRAM 533 MHz SO DIMM or 256MB, 512MB, and 1GB PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM 667 MHz SO DIMM.
Reply
Options

6 Posts

07-30-2012

belgie

7 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎07-30-2012
  • Location: belgie
  • Views: 25
  • Message 4 of 16

Re: thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-08-04, 11:46 AM

hi

thnx for the information

 

i tried to install windows 7 ultimate 64bit but it did not work

 

so i think i can not upgrade to 64 bits   

Reply
Options

7460 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

29478 Signins

1686743 Page Views

  • Posts: 7460
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1686743
  • Message 5 of 16

Re: thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-08-05, 3:36 AM

Which CPU is in your R60? Pretty sure you need a core2duo as a minimum to run an x64 OS.

 

Example... My T60p came with a T2xxx core duo. Before i could install win7x64, I upgraded to a T7600 c2d. Could have also used a T7200 or T7400, but chose the top end. I think there were a few T5xxx that would also have worked.

 

Anyway, if you can, please post your CPU type and we can go from there, but remember what was stated above... you'll still be limited to 3gb of memory available to the OS. Limited by the planar chipset.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

6 Posts

07-30-2012

belgie

7 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎07-30-2012
  • Location: belgie
  • Views: 25
  • Message 6 of 16

Re: thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-08-06, 6:09 AM

hi

i dont know what cpu is in my laptop

 

but i had another problem

when i want to install mac OS x lion 10.7 i only get a white screen with the apple trademark and thats it

do i have to install snow leopard first ?

gr jan

Reply
Options

7460 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

29478 Signins

1686743 Page Views

  • Posts: 7460
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1686743
  • Message 7 of 16

Re: thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-08-06, 6:29 AM

sorry, i can't help with your mac os question. i've got no experience with that.

 

regarding your cpu, open up your device manager and expand the processors item. it should list the info there.

post back and we can go from there.

 

cheers!


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

6 Posts

07-30-2012

belgie

7 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎07-30-2012
  • Location: belgie
  • Views: 25
  • Message 8 of 16

Re: thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-08-06, 21:49 PM

hi

i have 2 Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2300 @ 1.66GHz  processors

 

gr jan

Reply
Options

7460 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

29478 Signins

1686743 Page Views

  • Posts: 7460
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1686743
  • Message 9 of 16

Re: thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-08-06, 21:56 PM

wrote:

hi

@i have 2 Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2300 @ 1.66GHz  processors

 

gr jan


okay!

here lies your main challenge. the T2300 is not capable of running win x64.

detailed cpu info from intel: http://ark.intel.com/products/27233/Intel-Core-Duo-Processor-T2300-%282M-Cache-1_66-GHz-667-MHz-FSB%29

 

you'll need to source a core2duo cpu. i'll do a little searching to see what, if any, work in an r60.

 

cheers!

 


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

6 Posts

07-30-2012

belgie

7 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎07-30-2012
  • Location: belgie
  • Views: 25
  • Message 10 of 16

Re: thinkpad R60 upgrade 32 to 64 bit ??

2012-08-06, 21:59 PM

ok  ill see if i gonna put another cpu in it ;)

otherwise i could also just buy a laptop that's already compatible hahha

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms