Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemWindows 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP Discussions
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

01-22-2014

Thorntown, IN

8 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2014
  • Location: Thorntown, IN
  • Views: 86
  • Message 1 of 12

ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-22, 22:00 PM

Hello,

 

I'm deploying 120 Thinkpad Twists.  I'm using a task sequence to configure my machines and I'm installing ExpressCache from a batch file.  I'm using "expresscache_x64_110.exe" /S /v/qn      and this is doing the silent install but it forces a restart when it is finished.  I was wondering if anyone found a switch or flag to keep the install from forcing a reboot.  I tried /norestart which did not work.

 

TIA,

 

Kyle

Reply
Answer
Options

6851 Posts

10-29-2009

United States of America

17783 Signins

165154 Page Views

  • Posts: 6851
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 165154

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 14:48 PM

Here is the command-line that preload uses.  Can you please try it?

 

setup.exe /s /v" NOREBOOT=1 /qn"

Reply

Replies(11)
Options

6851 Posts

10-29-2009

United States of America

17783 Signins

165154 Page Views

  • Posts: 6851
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 165154
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 0:40 AM

Let me check how the preload installs this software at the Lenovo factory, because I'm pretty sure there must be some way to do it without a reboot.  It may take me a day or two to get back to you.

Reply
Answer
Options

6851 Posts

10-29-2009

United States of America

17783 Signins

165154 Page Views

  • Posts: 6851
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 165154
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 14:48 PM

Here is the command-line that preload uses.  Can you please try it?

 

setup.exe /s /v" NOREBOOT=1 /qn"

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

10 Posts

01-22-2014

Thorntown, IN

8 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2014
  • Location: Thorntown, IN
  • Views: 86
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 15:04 PM

Thank you.  From the command line, that syntax works.  I'm adding it to our task sequence to try it from there to be sure.  I appreciate your quick response.  Do you happen to have the preload command for the Intel Rapid Start also? Would you rather I start a new thread?

 

Thanks again! This is a huge help,

 

Kyle 

Reply
Options

6851 Posts

10-29-2009

United States of America

17783 Signins

165154 Page Views

  • Posts: 6851
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 165154
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 15:31 PM

Where did you download Intel Rapid Start?  Reason for my question, we have several different versions of Rapid Start and Intel is known to change basic things like installer switches between versions, so I want to make sure I'm giving you the correct info for the specific version you are using.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

01-22-2014

Thorntown, IN

8 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2014
  • Location: Thorntown, IN
  • Views: 86
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 20:25 PM

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS014924

 

Power Manager is the software for Rapid Start, I believe.

 

Thanks,

 

Kyle

Reply
Options

6851 Posts

10-29-2009

United States of America

17783 Signins

165154 Page Views

  • Posts: 6851
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 165154
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 20:37 PM

Let me back up a bit and ask what you are trying to deploy.  Are you trying to enable the iRST hibernation feature where the system hibernates to a special partition on the mSATA SSD?

 

Power Manager is only for Win7, not for Win8.  Since you posted in the Win8 board, I'm assuming you're deploying Win8, but please confirm it.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

01-22-2014

Thorntown, IN

8 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2014
  • Location: Thorntown, IN
  • Views: 86
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 20:51 PM

I'm deploying a Windows 8.1 image to 120 Lenovo Twists.  They have a 24 GB micro SSD - 16 GB was for ExpressCache and 8 GB was for Rapid Start (how they came OEM).  Since I'm reimaging them, I have to re-setup ExpressCache and Rapid Start.  I thought Power Manager was how I configured Rapid Start but it sounds like that was only for Windows 7?  Thanks for your ongoing help.

 

Kyle

Reply
Options

6851 Posts

10-29-2009

United States of America

17783 Signins

165154 Page Views

  • Posts: 6851
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 165154
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 21:08 PM

The Rapid Start stuff will actually work without any software at all.  It can be configured from BIOS Setup, you will see the configuration options if you look in the Config->Power section.  I believe the default is 3 hours.  You'll know it's working if the red LED stops flashing after 3 hours of normal sleeping on battery power.

 

Lenovo also has its own version of Rapid Start which we call 30-Day Standby.  On Win7, it is enabled by Power Manager.  On Win8, it is enabled by Lenovo Settings Dependency Package.  The GUI side is Lenovo Settings which comes from the Windows Store.  The difference between Lenovo version and normal iRST is that the Lenovo version will actually flush unused memory to disk first, in theory this makes the hibernation data smaller and therefore faster to read/write from disk.  In reality I'm not sure it makes that much difference with the 24GB SSD.

 

Anyway, if you decide you want to deploy Lenovo Settings Dependency Package, check the readme file.  I believe it should have instructions for silent install.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

01-22-2014

Thorntown, IN

8 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2014
  • Location: Thorntown, IN
  • Views: 86
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: ExpressCache "no restart" switch

2014-01-23, 21:24 PM

This has been very helpful.  I'm content to let the BIOS handle it.  My final (hopefully) question is how does iRST know what SSD partition to use?  There was no place to define it in the BIOS.  How does iRST want the partition formatted?

 

ExpressCache grabs the first one it sees and formats automatically.  I just wondered how to the other partition for iRST needed defined.

 

Thanks again,

 

Kyle

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms