Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
802.11n
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎04-05-2008
Location: Australia
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Windows XP Professional Task Manager

Hi,

I'm using a Windows XP Professional Edition Machine that does not open Windows Task Manager. I've tried CTRL+ALT+DEL and clicked Task manager and nothing opens. I've tried CTRL+ALT+ESC and absouloutley nothing comes up. I've gone to the directory- C:\WINDOWS\system32\taskmgr    and double clicked to open it and a message comes up with saying;

C:\WINDOWS\system32\taskmgr.exe

The Specified path does not exist.

Check the path, and then try again.

 

I'm also using antivirus- McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.0.0 with the newest Virus definitions. I have scanned the computer thoroughly, but nothing has been found.

Help would be highly appreciated.

Regards Dean.S

Lenovo 3000 N200 0687-A11: T5450(1.66GHz), 2GB RAM, 120GB 5400rpm HD, 14.1in 1280x800, Intel X3100, CDRW/DVDRW, Intel 802.11agn, Bluetooth, Modem, 10/100 Ethernet, Fingerprint reader, Camera, 6c Li-Ion, Windows 7 Ultimate!
Highlighted
Retired Moderator
Posts: 1,184
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Location: Iowa, USA
0 Kudos

Re: Windows XP Professional Task Manager

My bet is that McAfee is missing something. I've seen a virus do this sort of thing before. Usually a Smitfraud variant.
______________________________________________________
T60 2623-D7U, 3 GB Ram. Dual boot XP and Linux Mint.
T400 2765-T7U Windows 7

Registered Linux User #160145

FYI: I am not employed by Lenovo
802.11n
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎04-05-2008
Location: Australia
0 Kudos

Re: Windows XP Professional Task Manager

[ Edited ]

Just yesterday I installed Symantec Norton Internet Security 2008 & it detected nothing either?

Thanks for your response, more help needed though...

Regards Dean.S

Message Edited by Deano019 on 08-24-2008 10:23 AM
Lenovo 3000 N200 0687-A11: T5450(1.66GHz), 2GB RAM, 120GB 5400rpm HD, 14.1in 1280x800, Intel X3100, CDRW/DVDRW, Intel 802.11agn, Bluetooth, Modem, 10/100 Ethernet, Fingerprint reader, Camera, 6c Li-Ion, Windows 7 Ultimate!
802.11n
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎04-05-2008
Location: Australia
0 Kudos

Re: Windows XP Professional Task Manager

Hi Guys,

Thanks for all your help. I have found the solutution to my problem. What I did;

I reformated the whole hard drive and reinstalled XP. My computers Task Manager works & now my computer even runs faster!

Thankyou

Regards,

Dean.S 

Lenovo 3000 N200 0687-A11: T5450(1.66GHz), 2GB RAM, 120GB 5400rpm HD, 14.1in 1280x800, Intel X3100, CDRW/DVDRW, Intel 802.11agn, Bluetooth, Modem, 10/100 Ethernet, Fingerprint reader, Camera, 6c Li-Ion, Windows 7 Ultimate!
Retired Moderator
Posts: 1,184
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Location: Iowa, USA
0 Kudos

Re: Windows XP Professional Task Manager

Sometimes that is the only way. Besides nothing runs as well as a fresh install.
______________________________________________________
T60 2623-D7U, 3 GB Ram. Dual boot XP and Linux Mint.
T400 2765-T7U Windows 7

Registered Linux User #160145

FYI: I am not employed by Lenovo