English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

37 Posts

09-28-2008

US

56 Signins

378 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 378
  • Message 1 of 83

16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-03-11, 17:50 PM

Hi all,

I'm considering buying an X240, mostly because of the screen resolution.The X240 downside is the limitation to one memory stick, thus, 8GB. New sticks with 16GB are starting to appear in the market, but, it is unclear whether they are compatible with the X240


Has anybody tested these? Does the BIOS allow for 16GB?

http://www.intelligentmemory.com/dram-modules/ddr3-so-dimm/

They appear to have a module code IMM2G64D3(L)SOD8AG which appears to be the first 16GB, and can do DDR3-1600. They may become available by mid April at $300

This post suggests it won't work...

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1797721

On the other hand, it was "undocumented" that 2 8GB sticks could be used in X2xx series back in the day..

Adding a bit more info
A person from intelligentmemory says that a Haswell machine will not work with these chips, unless a change of the memory reference code, which is part of the BIOS. It is not yet 100% sure if it can be fixed by a BIOS update or not. On March 10, 2014, they did have a customer make it work on an Ivybridge E by modifying the memory reference code. Lenovo could work with Intel, and change this code.

Any ideas? Any Lenovo and/or Intel folks around?

 

I posted a similar message in another thinkpad forum, but, there has been no solution so far.

Best

sancat

Reply
Options

169 Posts

02-26-2008

US

258 Signins

9156 Page Views

  • Posts: 169
  • Registered: ‎02-26-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9156
  • Message 2 of 83

Re: 16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-03-12, 14:40 PM

wrs,

The ThinkPad X240 supports a maximum of one 8GB PC3-12800 DDR3L-1600MHz SODIMM Memory.

 

-Myles

Reply
Options

37 Posts

09-28-2008

US

56 Signins

378 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 378
  • Message 3 of 83

Re: 16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-03-12, 15:03 PM

Hi Myles,

 

Do you think Lenovo and Intel would be working together towards the changes in the Memory Reference Code needed for accepting 16GB sticks? Is it for sure that those 16GB sticks will not work on the X240?

 

I'm having a hard time giving up on my X230 because of memory limitations. And I'm not enjoying the limited resolution of the screen I have either.

 

In my company, i see most people going for MACs, most under OSX, but also many running only Windows 7 with bootcamp. I'm a die hard PC user, but, I'm finding more and more attractive MAC hardware, with great screens and large memories.

 

sancat

Reply
Options

169 Posts

02-26-2008

US

258 Signins

9156 Page Views

  • Posts: 169
  • Registered: ‎02-26-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9156
  • Message 4 of 83

Re: 16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-03-12, 15:41 PM

sancat,

While it is possible that Lenovo may support 16GB sticks in the future, right now the maximum supported is the 8GB stick. I'm sorry. I do understand that this may affect your purchasing decision.

 

-Myles

Reply
Options

7 Posts

03-12-2014

Germany

21 Signins

107 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎03-12-2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 107
  • Message 5 of 83

Re: 16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-03-20, 11:16 AM

@Myles_Lenovo: I could not find a way to send you a private message here. To whom could I send samples of 16GB modules within Lenovo and discuss technical details?

Reply
Options

169 Posts

02-26-2008

US

258 Signins

9156 Page Views

  • Posts: 169
  • Registered: ‎02-26-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9156
  • Message 6 of 83

Re: 16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-03-20, 14:18 PM

twmemphis,


Since Lenovo does not currently support 16GB modules on the X240 there would be no one at Lenovo who would be able to discuss them. If Lenovo does implement support for 16GB modules, the specifications will be made available on the Lenovo web site.

 

To send a private message, go to:

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/notes/privatenotespage/tab/compose

 

-Myles

Reply
Options

1 Posts

04-17-2014

Antarctica

7 Signins

71 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎04-17-2014
  • Location: Antarctica
  • Views: 71
  • Message 7 of 83

Re: 16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-04-17, 18:03 PM

Have there been any developments regarding 16GB memory in the X240?  If a 16GB memory module is in fact available, is there a technical problem, or is it some other issue at play?

 

I understand that Lenovo's official position is that 16GB is not supported.  My official position is that I'm not going to replace my X230 with anything less than 16GB. At this point the Dell 7240 looks rather attractive.

Reply
Options

169 Posts

02-26-2008

US

258 Signins

9156 Page Views

  • Posts: 169
  • Registered: ‎02-26-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9156
  • Message 8 of 83

Re: 16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-04-17, 18:09 PM

squid99,

 

There have been no new developments at this time. There are a number of issues at play, including a need to find suppliers, test modules, and update the memory reference code in the BIOS to support the 16GB modules. I cannot say that 16GB modules will ever be supported in the X240, but it is possible support may be added at a later date.

 

-Myles

Reply
Options

37 Posts

09-28-2008

US

56 Signins

378 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 378
  • Message 9 of 83

Re: 16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-04-17, 20:50 PM

@ squid99

I thought I never would see the day that I consider Dell, but, i'm now thinking the 7240 is an option.

 

After 5 months of using the X230, the speed is okay but the screen is pretty 2004-ish. And, I'm not changing the HDD on it for SSD, thinking on getting a new machine... 

Reply
Options

6 Posts

05-05-2014

Italy

6 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎05-05-2014
  • Location: Italy
  • Views: 63
  • Message 10 of 83

Re: 16GB memory for X240 available - does it work?

2014-05-05, 22:22 PM
Well, it is quite strange that the same family of product sees a downgrade of specs, or the capacity to upgrade it.
I got a new corporate laptop, the X240 which was a replacement of the X230, and it was not clear at all that it was mounting only one memory slot. That was so sad. The other brands we have, ultrabook as well, are equipped with dual memory slots to have at least a maximum of 16Gb. That was very unusual to see from Lenovo. Imagine that I also ordered 8Gb of additional RAM to be able to upgrade it (yes, we use a lot VMs, and yes, we need ultra-portable devices). I hope Lenovo will work and fix this issue soon. I can afford to buy a memory module, but I can't afford to stay 3 years more with a 8Gb machine.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete