English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

97 Posts

11-26-2008

US

345 Signins

1712 Page Views

  • Posts: 97
  • Registered: ‎11-26-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1712
  • Message 11 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-05, 11:36 AM

Go to Control Panel/Mouse/Ultranav/touchpad settings, and you can then expand the feature categories on the left-hand pane, and make all the adjustments you need.  You may want to try disabling some of these features by unchecking the totally instead of just trying to fine-tune them.  Try making these adjustments one at a time and see what happens.

 

ALso, make sure you have the latest Lenovo drivers installed, not just the ones that the ThinkVantage System Update finds.  I have noticed that TVSU will sometimes miss a published update on the Drivers page for your machine type, like the latest UltraNav Driver in this case.

Rob Kassab
X260 20A7 i7 16GB Win 10 Pro 64 512 SSD Ultradock | X240 20AL-00D7US, i7 8GB Win8.1 Pro 64, 512 SSD, Ultradock | X201 3249-CTO, i7 8GB Win7 Ult 64 Vertex 2 UltraBase | Twist S230u 3347-XF7, i7 8GB 120GB SSD, Win8 Pro | X120e 0596-CTO E350 4GB Win7 Ult 64 Vertex 2 SSD | X200 | T61 | T42 | X31 | T30
Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-05-2011

Western New York

18 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-05-2011
  • Location: Western New York
  • Views: 96
  • Message 12 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-05, 11:54 AM

Thanks, Ron,

 

I did all of that and finally discovered that the feature I really wanted--Momentum-- was not one of the Ultra NAV settings. I just downloaded the Synaptics driver and I think it is working! I can't believe it, but it IS actually working.

 

Thank you exceedingly for responding to me! Now all I have to master is downloading a copy of WORD 2003 and trying to use that. I downloaded the XP MODE just in case. This is so hard for a NON-computer geek...truly. But I am determined to do this myself and I HAVE...so far.

 

With a lot of help, like yours.

 

Devon

Reply
Options

97 Posts

11-26-2008

US

345 Signins

1712 Page Views

  • Posts: 97
  • Registered: ‎11-26-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1712
  • Message 13 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-05, 13:22 PM

Devon, If you don't need Outlook, why not try OpenOffice:  http://www.openoffice.org/

 

It's a free program and looks just like MS Word and Excel.  A lot of reviews I have read say they actually like some of the functionality better than MS Office.

 

Rob Kassab
X260 20A7 i7 16GB Win 10 Pro 64 512 SSD Ultradock | X240 20AL-00D7US, i7 8GB Win8.1 Pro 64, 512 SSD, Ultradock | X201 3249-CTO, i7 8GB Win7 Ult 64 Vertex 2 UltraBase | Twist S230u 3347-XF7, i7 8GB 120GB SSD, Win8 Pro | X120e 0596-CTO E350 4GB Win7 Ult 64 Vertex 2 SSD | X200 | T61 | T42 | X31 | T30
Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-05-2011

Western New York

18 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-05-2011
  • Location: Western New York
  • Views: 96
  • Message 14 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-05, 15:00 PM

Oh thanks again, ROB.

 

TRIED it for over a week and it almost tanked my 700 page manuscript. It kept reformatting and putting dark shading around the margins--without commands!

 

But it is definitely BETTER than WORD 2010. I am sick I bought the entire thing--all of OFFICE. 2007 is not as bad but 2010 is the PITS.

 

I appreciate the response though. Open Office is leaps above WORD 2010. One quick thing--there is no PAGE set up in Open Word. You have to go to FORMAT, PAGE, and then figure it out.

 

And inserting page numbers is IMPOSSIBLE.

 

I have the download coming (supposedly---probably got scammed for another $100) tonight, but just to be safe I also purchaed MS WORKS 2008 which has a full copy of Word 2003 on the disc. I'll get it one way or the other. It was only $25 on Ebay, and is authentic and boxed--not OEM.

 

Thanks again, Rob. That's very kind of you to offer help. My MOMENTUM feature is still working on my touchpad too! JOY to the WORLD!


Devon

 

I could get used to Open Office if I didn't work at my computer 14 hours a day, writing. For that many hours, I need to have the software that works--in the background and doesn't rear it's head every twenty minutes demanding to BE HEARD. GRIN!  **bleep**, this new computers--I swear they are THINKING...and trying to outwit me!

Reply
Options

2 Posts

06-24-2011

US

12 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎06-24-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 42
  • Message 15 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-24, 2:50 AM

I am having the same problem.  Could you explain a littlemore about where you found the driver.  I think I have the latest driver version 15.3.6.0 already installed and still no momentum.  Any suggestions?

Reply
Options

97 Posts

11-26-2008

US

345 Signins

1712 Page Views

  • Posts: 97
  • Registered: ‎11-26-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1712
  • Message 16 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-24, 3:41 AM

There is no "Momentum" setting; however, there are advanced settings at:

 

Control Panel => Mouse => UltraNav Tab => TouchPad Settings.

Rob Kassab
X260 20A7 i7 16GB Win 10 Pro 64 512 SSD Ultradock | X240 20AL-00D7US, i7 8GB Win8.1 Pro 64, 512 SSD, Ultradock | X201 3249-CTO, i7 8GB Win7 Ult 64 Vertex 2 UltraBase | Twist S230u 3347-XF7, i7 8GB 120GB SSD, Win8 Pro | X120e 0596-CTO E350 4GB Win7 Ult 64 Vertex 2 SSD | X200 | T61 | T42 | X31 | T30
Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-05-2011

Western New York

18 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-05-2011
  • Location: Western New York
  • Views: 96
  • Message 17 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-24, 4:15 AM

I don't really remember...so sorry. But as I recall, the problem is the settings were disabled in some OEMs--probably the Lenovo X220.

 

The Ultra Nav just doesn't have the momentum feature. Apparently I managed to UNLOCK it by installing a driver.

 

I think it was this one:

 

You can get the x64 version or a updated v15.0.10 from here http://www.station-drivers.com/telechargement/synaptics/synaptics_Touchpad_15.0.10.0(www.station-drivers.com).exe

 

I know I just played around it worked, amazingly.  After I dd that, the SYNAPTICS red and white swirl logo was in my right side bottom icon tray (I'm sorry--I AM NOT a computer person, just a writer with two PhDs in NON-tech areas. I can't function with  my son away and grown  now that he graduated from Princeton. But he hates the Momentum feature so he woudl also disable it and I could have throttled him since I couldn't get it back. BUT I DID on my old Samsung. On the new one it was just POSSIBLE until I downloaded from that link. After that I didn't think it worked. BUT IT DID when I ffound that red and white Synpaptics logo in the tray.

 

I clicked on the icon and then clicked on Pointing Device Properties. It said Synaptics Click pad V8.0 for P/S 2 port.BIngo--I GOT THROUGH!  BELIEVE me the directions below took me HOURS to figure out, but I just did it several times to check for you. THIS IS accurate if the driver I offered is the right one. But even it you go to SYNAPTICS.com they will show you the driver, I  believe. I will check for you after I send this--don't want to lose it.

 

Then I clicked on Pointer Options. I clicked on the pointer speed and set it to about 5/8s of the way to the fastest setting on the right. I did NOT click on enhance pointer precision only because when I do, it makes it LESS precise. I did click on the AUTOMATICALLY move pointer to the dialogue button or something like that just below it. Then I clicked APPLY.

 

Then I clicked on on Device Settings with the SYNAPTICS red and white swirly ICON all the way over to the top right. Then I clicked on SETTINGS farther down on the screen about two inches under the ICON.

 

HERE IS WHERE THE GOLD LIES! You have to carefully click the menu items to get the drop down menus to appear.

 

You can do whatever you want here by clicking on each, and there is even a video display of each setting and what it looks like. I was only interested in MOMENTUM and not all the various finger scrolling settings-- but you may enjoy them. After clicking on Settings, about half way down is Pointing. Click on the left side of POINTING and then after the drop down appears, click on ENABLE MOMENTUM and then hit APPLY or OK! That's it.

 

I will say that this was not available or on my computer (or unlocked on my new Lenovo at least) until I downloaded that driver. I hope it's the right one. I do understand your frustration. I couldn't function wihtout the Momentum feature activated. I frankly find the new Lenovo to be incredible but the Touchpad is very IRRITATING and stiff, and I still think it is---but with Momentum activated I can enjoy this computer now.

 

I will send this and check the SYNAPTIC site now...

 

Good luck!

 

Devon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-05-2011

Western New York

18 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-05-2011
  • Location: Western New York
  • Views: 96
  • Message 18 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-24, 4:19 AM

I just checked the SYNAPTICs site and I believe I did install the SCRYBE driver although I am not sure that is what did it.

 

But just in case, here it is:

 

http://www.synaptics.com/support/drivers

 

I installed the one for XP to Windows 7 64 bit.

 

Good luck. I know that if I COULD DO IT, you can, trust me.

 

Goodnight.

Devon

Reply
Options

271 Posts

05-31-2011

San Francisco

2743 Signins

7527 Page Views

  • Posts: 271
  • Registered: ‎05-31-2011
  • Location: San Francisco
  • Views: 7527
  • Message 19 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-24, 6:30 AM

In the mouse control panel, the UltraNav settings for TouchPad scrolling includes a "Enable Coasting" option. Is that the same as momentum?

 

Quite frankly, I am very disappointed with the touchpad on the X220. Unresponsive and awkward to operate. I have always disliked touchpads on laptop PC's, and one reason I chose ThinkPad (X220 is my second) is for the TrackPoint. I was hoping that as a newly introduced computer, the X220 might have a touchpad with improved technology, but it is the same bad experience as the others.

 

The first touchpad I have found to be acceptable is the one on the MacBook Pro. Much more responsive and intuitive than anything I have experienced on a PC laptop. Two finger scrolling (with momentum BTW) and pinch zoom are very responsive and accurate. The pinch zoom on the X220 touchpad has such bad response that it is unusable.

Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-05-2011

Western New York

18 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-05-2011
  • Location: Western New York
  • Views: 96
  • Message 20 of 23

Re: X220 touchpad--can't set momentum or glide action on touchpad...

2011-06-24, 7:49 AM

Gosh, I don't really know. And now I can't even find ULTRA NAV. I must have disabled it when I set up SYNAPTICS. I bet it is the same---sorry I can't be of more help. I agree though; I do not like this touchpad at all. I keep accidentally triggering the right click place by mistake and get these constrant instrusive right-click drop down menus. Very irritating. But as long as I have momentum back, i can take it.  It is just like coasting so I bet you have found a solution.  Good luck!

 

Devon

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms