Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
Location: Toronto
Message 11 of 38 (1,454 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM

[ Edited ]

lookingatlenovo wrote:

Actually, I am not part of a cause, and I am not telling Lenovo anything for anyone.  My comparison was to my older Laptop only, not the other older computers on the list, and the Lenovo is clearly faster.  My last post was meant to rebut the thought that the Lenovo wouldn't be faster than the 2.33 Ghz Core 2 Duo - Indeed it is faster by leaps and bounds, far faster than the extra .2 GHz alone would suggest (I know there are more factors involved than this, so don't sigh too loudly).

 

I would be interested in seeing if what you say is true, that the 2820 performs just as well as the 2920.  Unfortunately, I can find no real-world example of identical systems (except for the cpu) performing side-by-side.  It is my understanding that the Turbo boost is automatic with the processor, not something the user has to select.  For example:

 

Intel Writeup


Uhh, hello, go download ThrottleStop and set your multiplier to 23. Run your matlab benchmark again and tell me what is the difference.

 

Then tell me if the $500 extra for the 2920XM was worth it. It's that simple. I hope that is simple enough for you.

 

Thanks.

 

http://ark.intel.com/Compare.aspx?ids=52237,52227,

802.11n
Posts: 539
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Location: USA
Message 12 of 38 (1,422 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM

Quote: Uhh, hello, go download ThrottleStop and set your multiplier to 23. Run your matlab benchmark again and tell me what is the difference.

 

----------------------

 

Could you explain in plain English for somone who is not familiar with Throttlestop and multipliers?

_______________________________________________________________________
W520 4270CTO i7-2820QM Quadro2000M 1920x1080 Display 16GB RAM 2x240GB Intel 510 SSDs (RAID 0) - BIOS 1.42 - PCMark7:4,568
Samsung Series 9 15-inch NP900X4C-A03US - PCMark7: 4674
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-30-2011
Location: placeville
Message 13 of 38 (1,411 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM

what happened when you guys used throttlestop? (i'm still waiting to recieve my W520)

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
Location: Toronto
Message 14 of 38 (1,396 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM


ambiguousman wrote:

what happened when you guys used throttlestop? (i'm still waiting to recieve my W520)


Doesn't help you much. Honestly I'd highly recommend anyone thinking of ordering a 2920XM to get a 2820QM instead. Save the money. Cost/Benefit is just so high.

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
Location: Toronto
Message 15 of 38 (1,391 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM

 


huberth wrote:

Quote: Uhh, hello, go download ThrottleStop and set your multiplier to 23. Run your matlab benchmark again and tell me what is the difference.

 

----------------------

 

Could you explain in plain English for somone who is not familiar with Throttlestop and multipliers?


Hi Huberth,

 

The 2920XM cpu have a stock multiplier of 25x (100Mhz x 25 = 2.5Ghz), 55W TDP, unlocked multiplier (meaning you can overclock the cpu by increasing the multiplier to say, 27x = 2.7Ghz. It costs ~$1000.

 

The 2820QM cpu have a stock multiplier of 23x. (100Mhz x 23 = 2.3Ghz), 45W TDP, locked multiplier (meaning you cannot overclock the cpu further by increasing the multiplier. This costs ~$500.

 

The unlocked multiplier on the 2920XM cpu is the reason why it costs twice as much. However, Lenovo do not allow us to increase the multiplier.

 

lookingatlenovo was saying that he's all happy with his W520 with the 2920XM cpu because it's MATLAB benchmark beats out his 4 year old (6 year old specs) by a huge margin and he can't find any comparisons between the 2920XM and 2820QM cpu.

 

I'm telling him that if he download and run ThrottleStop, he can downclock his 2920XM cpu to run it at 2.3Ghz, essentially making it a 2820QM, and he can run the same benchmark and compare.

 

I hope this helps.

Blue Screen Again
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-30-2011
Location: placeville
Message 16 of 38 (1,312 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM

WTH??!?!?! Lenovo NEEDS to release a BIOS with overclocking capability for the 2920XM, seriously it's not funny. My company was looking to buy about 200 of these but that may not happen for this sole reason.

Guru
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: US
Message 17 of 38 (1,277 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM

I don't see anywhere on the Lenovo website where it addresses the 2920XM and overclocking. Yes, the 2920XM costs a good bit more than the 2820QM. It costs that much because it is the top of the line. There is always a preimum for top of the line processors, The 2820QM for most people probably isn't worth the extra cost over the 2720QM (Intel recommended channel price difference is $190.00). The speed difference is 100 MHz between the 2820QM and the 2720QM.

 

If you want to Overclock, I think you should buy a machine that is advertised as being something that overclocks. It probably won't have all the certifications that the W520 has. Overclocking can lead to system instability problems, heat problems, and miscalculations. If you are doing "work" instead of gaming and every calculation counts, overclocking is probably not for you. The W520 is a work station, not a game station.

X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-30-2011
Location: placeville
Message 18 of 38 (1,268 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM

that's exactly what i'll be doing for the rest of the company notebooks, taking my business elsewhere

Guru
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: US
Message 19 of 38 (1,265 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM

If you company regularly uses computers with overclocked processors, I would be scared to be your customer.

X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
Guru
Posts: 9,501
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Message 20 of 38 (1,262 Views)

Re: W520 w/ 2920XM


nibs wrote:

If you company regularly uses computers with overclocked processors, I would be scared to be your customer.


Heh. This.


W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Top kudoed Authors