Motorola Community

Moto G Phonesmoto g power
All Forum Topics
Options

145 Posts

08-06-2019

US

229 Signins

2194 Page Views

  • Posts: 145
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2194
  • Message 1 of 4

Can't Manually Switch Carrier Networks

2020-09-14, 0:49 AM

The toggle switch next to "Automatically Select Network" remains in the "On" position. Even though the toggle switch isn't greyed-out, it can't be disabled. As a result, I can't manually select which carrier's network I would like to use. I'm currently on T-Mobile but I wanted to manually connect to Sprint since both towers are now available to customers. I've booted my phone into Safe Mode, switched SIM cards, changed APN Settings and performed both a Network & Factory Reset all to no avail. I talked to T-Mobile Tech support over an hour but they stated that the problem wasn't on their end. They suggested I talk to Motorola Customer Support. The strange thing is that I placed my SIM card back into my unlocked Moto G7 Power and I was able to manually change carrier networks. When I returned my SIM card to my Moto G Power, the problem occurred again. Both of my phones were purchased at Best Buy. Here's hoping this issue can be resolved or this will definitely be my last unlocked Motorola phone. There's just too many hits and misses when it comes to full functionality. T-Mobile carrier-branded phones may suffer from bloatware but at least all the features work and they've been optimized to run on the network. I'm going to really hate leaving the Moto brand. They have the best budget-friendly phones around.

 

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

2435 Posts

03-11-2019

US

629 Signins

46240 Page Views

  • Posts: 2435
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 46240
  • Message 2 of 4

Re:Can't Manually Switch Carrier Networks

2020-09-16, 15:50 PM

Hi Presto8,

 

We would like to help you with this. Are you able to provide us screenshots of the "Automatically Select Network" for both G Power and G7 Power?  Please update your profile with your phones, carrier and IMEI -- this will help me investigate. Please make sure that the options under Settings > Motorola Privacy are on as well, and let me know (just reply here) if it's okay for me to look at your apps to see if they are a source of problems. Please include the G7 power when updating your profile.

Need help updating your profile? See here. https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Forum-Feedback/Complete-your-forums-profile/td-p/3339943

 

Best regards,
Zeke
Motorola Support



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

We value your opinion. Read More

Reply
Options

145 Posts

08-06-2019

US

229 Signins

2194 Page Views

  • Posts: 145
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2194
  • Message 3 of 4

Re:Can't Manually Switch Carrier Networks

2020-09-26, 0:32 AM

I just updated my Moto G7 Power to Android 10 and discovered that I no longer have the option to manually switch Carrier Networks like I did in Android Pie. Based on this evidence, I can safely conclude that this is either a feature or a bug of Android 10 and not the device itself. Motorola is not responsible for this issue. I consider this issue resolved.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

11366 Posts

03-05-2018

US

1161 Signins

157510 Page Views

  • Posts: 11366
  • Registered: ‎03-05-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 157510
  • Message 4 of 4

Re:Can't Manually Switch Carrier Networks

2020-09-28, 18:19 PM

Hi Presto8,

 

Thanks for the update. We'd still like to look into it, if you could provide the screenshots and update your forum profile it would be greatly appreciated. 

 

Best regards,
Rich
Motorola-Lenovo Support



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

We value your opinion. Read More

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete