Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Moto G Phonesmoto g10 / moto g10 power
All Forum Topics
Options

62 Posts

02-07-2018

Australia

50 Signins

302 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎02-07-2018
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 302
  • Message 1 of 4

Setting tones for different functions

2021-08-30, 5:17 AM

Not quite 3 years ago, an answer to this question for a g5s phone worked fine:

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Moto-G5S-Moto-G5S-Plus/Identifying-a-function-by-sound/m-p/4089316?page=1#4261053  

That phone has died, replaced by a g10, and the steps in the previous advice don't appear to work/be the same on the new phone.

So, with a g10 phone and Android 11 with the 1 july 2021 update, how can I do the same thing (set a discrete tone for incoming messages)???

Reply
Options

6142 Posts

10-05-2016

United States of America

705 Signins

60137 Page Views

  • Posts: 6142
  • Registered: ‎10-05-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 60137
  • Message 2 of 4

Re:Setting tones for different functions

2021-08-30, 17:29 PM

Hi @ Davidk13 ,

 

We appreciate you writing to us here regarding your concern with custom ringtones for incoming messages. 

 

If you are referring to the custom ringtone for text messages, here's how:

  1. Go to Messages
  2. Tap the 3-dot option
  3. Tap Settings
  4. Tap Notifications
  5. Tap Incoming messages
  6. Tap Advanced
  7. Tap Sound
  8. There, you can choose whatever is your preferred ringtone. 
  9. Tap the Back icon once you have chosen a ringtone. 

 

Let us know if this is what you are referring to.

 

Regards,
Jess
Motorola Support

Please do not send me a personal message regarding your concerns or questions if this can be posted to this community. We prioritize the ones posting on threads.
Reply
Options

62 Posts

02-07-2018

Australia

50 Signins

302 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎02-07-2018
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 302
  • Message 3 of 4

Re:Setting tones for different functions

2021-08-30, 22:24 PM

Thanks.  I guess Google is also infected with the MS disease - change something that works in a new edition, just to show that it's new.

Reply
Options

6142 Posts

10-05-2016

United States of America

705 Signins

60137 Page Views

  • Posts: 6142
  • Registered: ‎10-05-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 60137
  • Message 4 of 4

Re:Setting tones for different functions

2021-08-31, 17:32 PM

@ Davidk13 wrote:

Thanks.  I guess Google is also infected with the MS disease - change something that works in a new edition, just to show that it's new.

 

Hi @ Davidk13 ,

 

Thanks for posting. We appreciate it. Our phones are running the stock Android OS which has Google features. Please let us know if you are still having the same concern or have any other concerns so we could help you further. 

 

 

Regards,
Jess
Motorola Support

Please do not send me a personal message regarding your concerns or questions if this can be posted to this community. We prioritize the ones posting on threads.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms