Motorola Community

Moto G Phonesmoto g7 play / moto g7 / moto g7 power / moto g7 plus
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

11-18-2019

US

6 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 37
  • Message 1 of 6

touch delay g7 power

2019-11-18, 19:13 PM

I want to adjust the click sensitivity so an elderly person who has poor muscle control would have to press hard on an icon to activate it.
I altered the following settings:

 

tap settings.
Tap Language and Input.
Scroll to the very bottom of these settings and tap pointer speed.

to the left most of the bar (minimal sensitivity)

There seems to be no difference.
How can I reduce the sensitivity of the screen?

Reply
Options

1846 Posts

10-16-2018

GB

1682 Signins

26123 Page Views

  • Posts: 1846
  • Registered: ‎10-16-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 26123
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: touch delay g7 power

2019-11-18, 23:07 PM

Would voice activation be easier for them.The latest version of Google assistant has some awesome hands-free options,

 

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.android.apps.googleassistant&hl=en_GB

 

HTH :)

Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-18-2019

US

6 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 37
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: touch delay g7 power

2019-11-19, 9:00 AM

Thank you for your response, voice activation is already being used,

the problem I'm trying to solve is the fact that it's too easy to inadvertently, by just touching an icon, an app will be executed,

So the focus on the task in hand will be lost.

All I want to achieve is having to press harder on an icon to activate it.

So in a sense, making the screen less responsive.

Reply
Options

1846 Posts

10-16-2018

GB

1682 Signins

26123 Page Views

  • Posts: 1846
  • Registered: ‎10-16-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 26123
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: touch delay g7 power

2019-11-19, 9:55 AM

 wrote:

Thank you for your response, voice activation is already being used,

the problem I'm trying to solve is the fact that it's too easy to inadvertently, by just touching an icon, an app will be executed,

So the focus on the task in hand will be lost.

All I want to achieve is having to press harder on an icon to activate it.

So in a sense, making the screen less responsive.


OK.Until there's a post to help fix the sensitivity do this.Stack some App icons into groups like I do e.g Drag and drop the icons onto to one another.I have all me media type icons in a  group like Gallery/Photos/Music Player/Radio and my Calender/Alarm clock/Notepad in another.

 

This way you cannot accidentally launch the apps as you have to click twice and also you can move them on the home screen to a place where they won't get clicked accidentally.

 

You can also pickup some icons and drag them to the right to make another screen and then set that up how you like and leave a minimum set on the home screen.Then it's easy to swipe left and right to customized screens :)

 

I have my less frequently used apps on my 2nd screen.

 

HTH :)

 

Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-18-2019

US

6 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 37
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: touch delay g7 power

2019-11-19, 12:33 PM

Excellent suggestion, thanks.

Nova launcher prime is installed, so there are quite a few ways to stick apps into folders etc.

 

I already have it set up so the main screen has only a few icons on it,All the others are on another screen and in the app drawer.

Reply
Options

9 Posts

03-03-2020

US

14 Signins

120 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎03-03-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 120
  • Message 6 of 6

Re:touch delay g7 power

2020-03-03, 16:53 PM
I realize that the original post was 4 months ago but I just got my G7 a few days ago. I was having a similar problem with the screen sensitivity and couldn't find any clear-cut answers anywhere so I went hunting through the settings menu looking for anything that might help and I found the answer. What you need to do is go to the "Accessibility" menu, scroll down to where you see "touch and hold delay" and click on it...change the selection to either medium or long. For my purposes choosing the medium option has worked perfectly and allows me to scroll down a web page without seeming to click on every link on the page. Hope this helps you.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete