Motorola Community

Moto G Phonesmoto g8 power lite
All Forum Topics
Options

39 Posts

11-11-2020

Australia

23 Signins

190 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2020
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 190
  • Message 1 of 8

I can only reach the internet via Wi-Fi

2021-02-23, 5:20 AM

Settings/Network & internet/Mobile network

 

On my phone if I turn on Mobile data the screen shows it is set to on. I then exit, but when I go back to the setting, whether later or immediately,  it is back to off again.

 

I don't have Airplane set to on so it ain't that. What could be causing this?

 

Solved! See the solution
Bill from Oz
Reply
Options

2232 Posts

03-04-2016

India

1099 Signins

43855 Page Views

  • Posts: 2232
  • Registered: ‎03-04-2016
  • Location: India
  • Views: 43855
  • Message 2 of 8

Re:I can only reach the internet via Wi-Fi

2021-02-23, 6:51 AM

@ Bill from Oz wrote:

Settings/Network & internet/Mobile network

 

On my phone if I turn on Mobile data the screen shows it is set to on. I then exit, but when I go back to the setting, whether later or immediately,  it is back to off again.

 

I don' have Airplane set to on so it ain' that. What could be causing this?

 

Hi,

 

Thank you for posting and sorry to know about this, can you test in Safe Mode and let me know if it behaves the same? Safe Mode will start the device without third-party applications running. To boot into Safe Mode, press the physical power key, touch and hold Power off, touch OK when Reboot to Safe Mode appears. Restart the device to get out of Safe Mode. 

 

Regards

Sandip



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs up icon on the bottom right to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

We value your opinion. Read More

Reply
Options

39 Posts

11-11-2020

Australia

23 Signins

190 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2020
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 190
  • Message 3 of 8

Re:I can only reach the internet via Wi-Fi

2021-02-23, 8:46 AM

No, that didn't fix the problem Sandip. Any other ideas? Would resetting

Wi-Fi, Mobile and Bluetooth help?

Bill from Oz
Reply
Options

2232 Posts

03-04-2016

India

1099 Signins

43855 Page Views

  • Posts: 2232
  • Registered: ‎03-04-2016
  • Location: India
  • Views: 43855
  • Message 4 of 8

Re:I can only reach the internet via Wi-Fi

2021-02-23, 9:10 AM

@ Bill from Oz wrote:

No, that didn' fix the problem Sandip. Any other ideas? Would resetting

Wi-Fi, Mobile and Bluetooth help?

Hi, 

 

You can try doing a Network Reset to see if that helps steps are below

  1. Go to Settings > System > Advanced > Reset options.

  2. Touch Reset Wi-Fi, mobile & Bluetooth > RESET SETTINGS

  3. Touch RESET SETTINGS.

 

Thanks

Sandip



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs up icon on the bottom right to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

We value your opinion. Read More

Reply
Options

39 Posts

11-11-2020

Australia

23 Signins

190 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2020
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 190
  • Message 5 of 8

Re:I can only reach the internet via Wi-Fi

2021-02-24, 0:30 AM

I've done the reset and then reset all the areas that needed it and still the problem persists. What now? I'm stumped as to what else can be tried. We have a "Covid safe" App we use here to enter any business. for contact tracing purposes and I can't use it as only Wi-Fi works.

 

Bill from Oz
Reply
Options

39 Posts

11-11-2020

Australia

23 Signins

190 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2020
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 190
  • Message 6 of 8

Re:I can only reach the internet via Wi-Fi

2021-02-25, 3:18 AM

I have now solved this. After a morning trying to get help from Motorola's Help and Chat, both of which I found less than helpful, I returned to the Manual. This, incidentally, is excellent. I finally found the solution... Somehow my service provider, (Vodafone), was no longer shown as the provider of Mobile data. When I set that it all worked as it should. So simple it was assumed and so overlooked. 

Bill from Oz

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2232 Posts

03-04-2016

India

1099 Signins

43855 Page Views

  • Posts: 2232
  • Registered: ‎03-04-2016
  • Location: India
  • Views: 43855
  • Message 7 of 8

Re:I can only reach the internet via Wi-Fi

2021-02-25, 5:20 AM

Hi,

 

I’m glad you are able to figure it out and thank you for confirming. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any further questions/concerns. We are here to help!

 

Regards

Sandip



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs up icon on the bottom right to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

We value your opinion. Read More

Reply
Options

39 Posts

11-11-2020

Australia

23 Signins

190 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2020
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 190
  • Message 8 of 8

Re:I can only reach the internet via Wi-Fi

2021-02-25, 6:40 AM
Thanks, I'm just glad to get it sorted.
Bill from Oz
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms