Motorola Community

motorola one Phonesmotorola one action
All Forum Topics
Options

28 Posts

02-15-2020

US

19 Signins

195 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 195
  • Message 21 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 8:35 AM
arsradu I did the reset exactly as you outlined. It's still only connecting to an "H" - Hey it did take some courage LOL
Reply
Options

273 Posts

10-13-2019

RO

437 Signins

4821 Page Views

  • Posts: 273
  • Registered: ‎10-13-2019
  • Location: RO
  • Views: 4821
  • Message 22 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 8:47 AM

Good! :) Congrats! You're on the right path.

 

Now...do you happen to have another T-mobile SIM card at hand? Just to try and rule out the possibility of this being some sort of SIM card issue.

 

Also, do you have another SIM card for another carrier that supports LTE in your area? Just to see if other SIMs work into the same phone.

 

Cause, if they do, that means that either the phone doesn't like that SIM card for whatever reason, or it needs some configuration from T-mobile to make it work.

 

For example, over here, if you're a prepaid user, there are carriers who require you to have a minimum subscription service activated on your account to benefit from 4G. For example, they won't give you 4G with the 5 EURO pack, but they will, starting with 7 EUROS for example.

 

So that could be the case there, as well.

 

So:

1. if the same sim has 4G in other phones -> it's probably not the SIM, and that also means the carrier has activated everything on the SIM

2. if other SIMs in the same phone work ok -> it's probably not the phone

3. if other SIMs from the same carrier work on the same phone -> it's proabably a SIM/account specific issue.

 

Last option, if you don't have anything to lose, is a general Factory Reset of the phone. But keep in mind this WILL erase your data.

 

The option is in the same place as the Network Reset options, just below it (Erase all data (factory reset)).

I'm just a human being human.
Reply
Options

28 Posts

02-15-2020

US

19 Signins

195 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 195
  • Message 23 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 8:59 AM
arsradu, you are totally awesome! Okay I am not a prepaid user - I've been with T-Mobile before they were T-Mobile. The SIM card connected to LTE in my Moto G3. It's the same SIM card and I don't have another one to try either. I can go to T-Mobile tomorrow on my way to work and ask them to try another SIM. And hey, I was going to do a factory reset before I send this phone back anyway - so nothing to really lose at that point. What should I do about my phone number showing - can someone hack into this phone right now?
Reply
Options

273 Posts

10-13-2019

RO

437 Signins

4821 Page Views

  • Posts: 273
  • Registered: ‎10-13-2019
  • Location: RO
  • Views: 4821
  • Message 24 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 9:09 AM

Well I don't know. I'm not a hacker. :)) But...you can definitely open the door to a lot of unwanted calls. If you can, just delete the screenshot. Don't worry about it.

 

Now, older sim cards, especially if they're that old, can indeed sometimes cause issues like this. A SIM replacement is usually free (at least where I live) and it can potentially solve this issue. So I'd say: let's try to get your SIM card replaced. Once you're at T-mobile, they could also try one of their SIM cards, for sure. But in the end, I think it would be best if they replace yours. It's also good for the future, since after a while, SIM cards are more prone to failure. So since you're already there, it would be a good idea to do it nonetheless. 

 

Looking forward to your updates on this. And we'll see what there is to do next.

 

I'd also keep the Factory Reset option as a last resort, in case everything else fails. So, SIM replacement first, factory reset after (if it's still necessary, which I hope it won't be).

I'm just a human being human.
Reply
Options

28 Posts

02-15-2020

US

19 Signins

195 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 195
  • Message 25 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 9:19 AM
You're not a hacker arsradu ? LOL I didn't think you were but you seem so tech smart I thought I would ask :)

I will do as you suggest with T-Mobile tomorrow - a new SIM. I thought they should have done that anyway but for some reason they didn't think I needed one. But yes it's 5 years old! Geez....

Okay my friend - I will update you tomorrow.
Thanks so much for all of your help!
Reply
Options

273 Posts

10-13-2019

RO

437 Signins

4821 Page Views

  • Posts: 273
  • Registered: ‎10-13-2019
  • Location: RO
  • Views: 4821
  • Message 26 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 9:24 AM

You're most welcome. And thank you as well for your nice words. :)

I'm just a human being human.
Reply
Options

28 Posts

02-15-2020

US

19 Signins

195 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 195
  • Message 27 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 9:30 AM
Aww … hey arsradu you deserve nice words!!
And I fixed my screenshot :) Thanks again!
Reply
Options

273 Posts

10-13-2019

RO

437 Signins

4821 Page Views

  • Posts: 273
  • Registered: ‎10-13-2019
  • Location: RO
  • Views: 4821
  • Message 28 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 9:31 AM

Awesome! Well, glad I could help. :)

I'm just a human being human.
Reply
Options

45 Posts

04-06-2015

EE

53 Signins

334 Page Views

  • Posts: 45
  • Registered: ‎04-06-2015
  • Location: EE
  • Views: 334
  • Message 29 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 15:35 PM

Sorry, for the delay, please also check:

Settings -> System -> About Phone -- here look for "Software channel" - I think you should have RETUS.

If you have RETEU or some other channels, then really only Motorola tech support can help you letting know if T-Mobile and your phone can work together (LTE network). 

Reply
Options

45 Posts

04-06-2015

EE

53 Signins

334 Page Views

  • Posts: 45
  • Registered: ‎04-06-2015
  • Location: EE
  • Views: 334
  • Message 30 of 43

Re: Please help me with my Motorola One Action

2020-02-19, 15:44 PM

In other Moto forum: 

"

Verizon and tmobile in usa have carrier specific phones and settings. Not interchangeable. 

"

and T-Mobile (for European phones):

"

https://community.t-mobile.com/thread/147147

"

Sometimes it is the best send back the one that causes you problems and to get similar that doesn't cause you problems.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete