Motorola Community

motorola one Phonesmotorola one vision
All Forum Topics

Downgrade to Android 9

2020-02-17, 17:56 PM

TL;DR

Phone updated to A10 against my will, I experienced performance loss, wanted to downgrade to A9, couldn't find a tutorial specific for this phone, only similars; they seemed complicated, saying I will lose warranty and not be able to update over the air again. I really wanted to go back to A9 but those two last things made me worried and a bit frustrated.

So... My phone decided to update on its own to android 10. I mean, it had downloaded the update and asked me to complete the installation. Since I'm new to android I was caught by surprise, as I had forgotten that android prioritizes dowloading and installing updates as soon as possible as default ( apparently). SO I went to the configurations, looked for and disabled the config to install updates upon restarting the device, because I did not want to use android 10, as I knew it would lower the performance and the only interesting thing on it for me was the dark mode. The thing is, one day my battery died, I plugged in the charger and when I came back my phone was on android 10. To confirm my fears, there was significant loss of performance in games (I know it's not a gaming phone, but it all ran very smooth before, while now... oh well).