Options

10 Posts

03-20-2020

CA

20 Signins

130 Page Views

• Views: 130
  • Message 1 of 21

Just purchased, already 3 months behind on security updates (TELUS channel)

2020-03-20, 14:44 PM

Hey Moto folks,

I just got my Motorola One Vision a few days ago and was surprised to see that it is still on the December 2019 security patch. on top of that, it's still on Android 9 but that's not my top concern (although, still a pretty big concern).

The fact this phone was "Android One" was one of my primary reasons that lead me to purchase this phone for myself and my partner. Needless to say, this is not what I would consider Android One:

Android OS updates for 2 years

Regular security updates for 3 years

Let's expand on the two things that concern me here:

• Regular security updates - As a devops engineer, I get it, I really do. Major OS updates can be a hassle and take a lot of time. But not patching CVEs for at least 3 months is reckless and a violation of customer trust. For a phone that is suppose to be Android One, this is the minimum bar and not doing it is inexcusable.
  • Android OS updates for 2 years - We're already 8 months behind on OS updates. With this trend, only one major update can be expected to ship within that 2 year period (optimistically).

I don't need to bluster about "I've been a moto customer for years.." or whatever because that's not the point. The point is, don't say "Android One" if you are not committed to actually doing the work.

I sincerely hope this is simply a channel that was missed during rollouts. Regardless, would love to hear any status update (not dates, just status) on both android 10 and security updates for the TELUS channel (Canada to be clear).

I have already updated my profile with my phone model, IMEI andcell provider so, please, any info you can provide based on that would be great.

Options

10 Posts

03-20-2020

CA

20 Signins

130 Page Views

• Message 2 of 21