cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TheDorkside
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Views: 1,532

Lenovo Yoga 530 14ARR Drivers- and BIOS issues

As a game developer I wanted to point out a couple of quite big problems with the Lenovo 530 Ryzen Mobile laptops, I hope this can gain some traction and eventually reach the developers of drivers- and BIOS'es at Lenovo.

BIOS

• Unable to allocate VRAM. 256MB up to 2GB should be available in the BIOS. This is a really big issue since 256MB renders some applications useless. I can't activate full hardware acceleration in Adobe Photoshop CC. Black Magic Da Vinci Resolved won't start due to limited VRAM. Texture streaming is having issues in Unreal Engine 4. I know that the GPU can dynamically allocate more VRAM if needed, however a lot of applications need 512MB (or more) of dedicated VRAM in order to run, please increase this, or preferably let us to choose how much we want to dedicate to the GPU.

Radeon Drivers

• Can't  add custom resolutions to internal screen (although it works on external screens) - I was able to do so with registry hacks, without any issues. With this being said, it should be supported by the Software itself.
  • AMD Hardware Codec doesn't work for encoding videos, making it hard to stream or encode videos over the GPU
  • Freesync doesn't work properly - I have a freesync monitor at home. A MSI Optix 27CQ. The Yoga 530 can't provide freesync to it although it is being promoted on AMDs site. And then there is a strange thing where the monitor can only use 120Hz in 1080p, but not 1440p. This could be a bandwidth issue. The computer can't however do 900p120Hz or 720p120Hz, although the monitor supports both these resolutions and refreshrates over hdmi.... my other computers can provide these resolutions and refreshrates, even with hdmi older graphics cards with 1.4b standard.

Power Management