Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

11-22-2019

Tunisia

1 Signins

12 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2019
  • Location: Tunisia
  • Views: 12
  • Message 1 of 3

Lenovo Y520 ram upgrade

2019-11-22, 1:00 AM

 Hello everyone , 

The  installed ram (Ramaxel 8Gb) shows 2400Mhz in the system(task manager) , therefore i bought a Kingston 8gb 2400Mhz.

After i received it , i opened my notebook to discover that the one installed is 2666 , anyway , i put the new ram alongside with the old one , windows crashes ( freez) on startup , and it booted once then crashed ... 

What i i shoud do? What could be the problem ? 

While there is nothing to do on the BIOS.

 

Ps: on the bios they were detected as 16gb.

 

Thanks in advance

Reply
Options

2707 Posts

04-23-2019

United States of America

554 Signins

22009 Page Views

  • Posts: 2707
  • Registered: ‎04-23-2019
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 22009
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: Lenovo Y520 ram upgrade

2019-11-22, 15:35 PM

Hi Naptoon123,

 

Welcome to the Community Forums!

 

We would like you to try each RAM stick on its own to check if one of them is causing the issues.



Hope this helps.

Regards,

Jack_Lenovo1



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs-up icon below to thank them.!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

Reply
Options

601 Posts

08-01-2018

United States of America

409 Signins

10530 Page Views

  • Posts: 601
  • Registered: ‎08-01-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10530
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: Lenovo Y520 ram upgrade

2019-11-22, 16:02 PM

Hi Naptoon123!

 

Welcome to the Community Forums!

 

Let's isolate the case by reverting the computer back to its original configuration and check if it works fine.

 

If yes, do the following :

Test the New installed RAM without the original RAM and check if there any errors on the computer.

Do a test on both slots to ensure that everything is working fine.

 

You may also try to switch places with those two RAM.

 

If the newly installed RAM is the issue, it is best to contact the reseller for a replacement.

 

Regards,

Jerry_Lenovo



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All